Source: John and Walter Mattocks, Mattocks (Chicago: unpublished manuscript, 1885).
NOTE: Harold has written that this manuscript contains an error. He informs us that the William Mattocks, born 20 June 1818 at Peacham, Vermont, married Eliza, daughter of Alexander Brock and Isabella Harvey of Barnett, Vermont. – Gregg Mattocks, 1 November 2009.
John and Walter MATTOCKS
115 Monroe Street
of Totness, County Devonshire, England, joined the colony of Massachusetts Bay prior to 1635. He united with the church in 1639, and in March following was made a Freeman. His daughter, Alice, prior to 1635, married Nathaniel BISHOP, and was after his death married to John LEWIS (LEWES). His daughter, Mary, was married to Samuel BROWNE (by Governor ENDICOTT), in July 1661. James died at Boston, in 1667, and his last will and testament appears recorded in book 1, page 541 of the Suffolk County Registry, appointing his wife Mary executrix. He was father of Samuel, Alice and Mary.
Born at Boston, Massachusetts, was married to constance, daughter of Richard FAIRBANKE, March 30, 1653. His name appears signed in 1675 to a petition addressed to the General Court of Massachusetts, for the removal of the Narragansett Indians from the Massachusetts Bay Colony. He was father of James, Constance, Zaccheus, John, Elizabeth, Mehitable, Mary, and of
who was born October 15, 1659, and married Ann MARCH DADEY, February 12, 1688. He was father of
who was born in 1703, and died May 8th, 1766 at Middletown, Conn., where his remains rest in the first burial ground in the town. He was father of James and Samuel.
was father of John, James, Ichabod, Edna, Lucy, Sally and Theodosia, most of whom removed west, and have descendants, scattered throughout Western New York and Pa. and Ohio and Illinois.
was born in 1739 and is supposed to have resided in Westford, Conn. prior to his removal to Hartford County. He married Sarah BURDELL, Mar. 14, 1763 and in 1778 resigned a Captain’s Commission in the Army, and emigrated with his family to Vermont, settling in Tinmouth, Rutland County, from which town he was in 1781 elected to the Vermont Legislature, which convened at Charlestown, New Hampshire in October of that year, and was re-elected for three succeeding terms. In 1785 he was chosen member of the Ninth Council which position he resigned to accept the office of State Treasurer, to which he was elected in 1786 and which he filled continuously, by annual election until the year 1800. From 1783 to 1789 and again in 1794, he was assistant judge of Rutland County Court, and Chief Judge in 1788-9. He resigned the office of Treasurer July 28, 1800 on account of ill health and died Jan. 18, 1804. He was father of Samuel, Rebecca, William, John and two daughters, Sarah and Mary who died in infancy.
born Dec. 17, 1764 at Hartford, Conn., removed to Tinmouth, Vermont with his father in 1778 and married Lucy Sage, daughter of Cephas SMITH, of Rutland Vermont Jan. 29, 1792. He was sheriff of Addison County in 1813 and resided at Middlebury until his death in 1823. He was father of Caroline, born October 25, 1792 who married Noadiah MOORE of Champlain, New York; of Lucy, born May 19, 1798, who married John A. RHODES, of Highgate, Vermont; of Samuel B. born Dec. 14, 1802, who married Harriet CHOATE, Dec. 7, 1827; of Henry, born Dec. 12, 1805, who married Martha PORTER of Danville, Vermont in 1839. Two children, Sarah and Mary died in childhood.
Rebecca MATTOCKS was born in Hartford, Conn. Dec. 22, 1768 and resided at the time of her marriage, with her parents in Tinmouth, Ver. Here Oct. 7, 1790 she married Samuel MILLER who settled in Middlebury in 1788, and ranked among the foremost lawyers of Vermont. He was one of the founders of Middlebury College, and with hes wife, united with the Congregational Church, Sept. 12, 1805 to which he left a legacy of one thousand dollars at his death, April 17, 1810. It was at their home that Governor MATTOCKS resided while studying law in Mr. MILLER’s office. Mrs. MILLER died Nov. 23, 1841 leaving no children.
William MATTOCKS was born May 9, 1773 at Hartford, Conn. and at the age of five years accompanied his father to Tinmouth, Vermont where he remained until seventeen years of age. He then entered Dartmouth College, where he graduated four years later. He married Prudence DEMING, Oct. 2, 1801 and resided at Danville, Vermont, where he followed the practice of law from 1801 until his death May 21, 1842. He was father of Laura, Sally, Jane, Emily, and of Mary who died at Bath, New Hampshire July 25, 1818 aged fifteen years and also fo William and Charles who died in childhood.
Laura MATTOCKS was born Nov. 7, 1802 and married George S. MANN son of Solomon MANN, of Fairlee, Vermont July 1, 1819. She removed with her husband to San Francisco, California where they now reside.
Sally was born July 27, 1805 and married Danford CARPENTER at Danville, Vermont Dec. 9, 1824. She died at Grand Rapids, Michigan Feb. 19, 1878.
Jane Rebecca MATTOCKS was born at Danville, Vermont April 12, 1814 and married Thomas B. VERMILYE of N.Y.City who died in Armonk, Westchester County, N.Y. Dec 6, 1866. She resided after her husband’s death at Brooklyn, N.Y. and died July 13, 1880 at Lima, Ohio.
Emily MATTOCKS was born Feb. 21, 1818 and died unmarried at Brooklyn New York January 2, 1878.
was born at Hartford, Connecticut, on the fourth day of March 1777, and resided during his early boyhood, in Tinmouth, Vermont. At the age of fifteen, he went to Middlebury, and resided two years or more with his sister, Rebecca MILLER. Here he commenced the study of law in the office of Samuel MILLER, but completed his studies with Judge Bates TURNER, at Fairfield, Vermont. He was admitted to the bar at the February term, 1797, of the County Court of Franklin County, held at St. Albans, and commenced the practice of law in Danville, but soon afterward removed to Peacham, where he married Esther NEWELL, Sept. 4, 1810. She was born July 21, 1792, and died on her birthday 1844 leaving four children living. In 1807, 1815, 1816, 1823-24, Mr. MATTOCKS represented the town of Peacham in the general assembly, and was a delegate to the Constitutional Convention of 1836. He was elected as a Whig to Congress in 1820 and 1824, and again in 1840. He was chosen Judge of the Supreme Court in 1832, and declined a re-election the following year.
Mr. MATTOCKS was in 1806 one of the thirteen directors of the Vermont State Bank; Brigadier General of the State Militia in 1812, and Governor in 1843. His home was in Peacham, where he practised law from the year 1800 until three years prior to his death, which occurred August 14, 1847. He was the father of Katherine, John, Edward, William, George, and two daughters named Esther, who died in infancy.
Katherine, the surviving daughter, was born at Peacham, June 3, 1812, and resided with her parents until her marriage to James COWLES, Sept. 24, 1833. After spending many years on a farm in Peacham, they removed to Rockford, Illinois, their present home. Their daughter, Esther Newell, born September 12, 1838, is the wife of Dr. CHANDLER of that place. Their son, John, born June 17, 1836, died July 30, 1858.
Edward MATTOCKS was born in Peacham, Vermont, June 8, 1816. He was a graduate of Middlebury College and studied medicine in the office of Dr. SHED in Peacham. His wife Adeline A. KIMBALL, to whom he was married March 4, 1841, died Oct. 3, 1843. He married Nancy J. SMITH of Lyndon, Feb. 16, 1847, who is still living at the latter place.
In the late war, he enlisted in the 3rd regiment of Vermont Volunteers, serving as Lieutenant, and as acting Assistant Adjutant-General in 1863. He died Dec. 20, 1867 at York, Pennsylvania. He was the father of Edward N., born at Lyndon, Vermont, Dec. 5, 1842, who served two years in the 3rd regiment of Vermont Volunteers, Company G, and died May 12, 1867, of disease contracted in the army. He is buried with his father at York, Pennsylvania.
Of Nelo MATTOCKS, born Oct. 13, 1848, who died Jan. 28, 1849. And of Estelle MATTOCKS, who was born in Lyndon, Vermont, Nov. 14, 1851, and married Adelbert DENISON of Burke, Vermont, Dec. 29, 1869, now living in Logan Grove, Dixon County, Nebraska.
Of Enos MATTOCKS, who was born in Lyndon, Vermont, Aug. 15, 1859, and married July 3, 1879, in DeWitt, Nebraska.
William MATTOCKS was born in Peacham, Vermont, June 20, 1818, and graduated at the Wesleyan University in Middleton, Conn. in 1838. He married Eliza, daughter of Robert BROCK of Barnett, Vermont, Oct. 3, 1839, and followed the practice of law at Peacham, Vt., until his removal to Kenosha, Wis., in 1856, where he resided two years. In 1858, he removed to Chicago where he practiced law until his death Dec. 22, 1859, of typhoid fever at the residence of Dr. Asshel FARR, Kenosha, Wis. Mr. MATTOCKS was a Democratic candidate for Lieutenant Governor of Vermont, a candidate for the State Senate in 1857 and represented the town of Peacham several terms in the Legislature of that State. He was the father of four chilren, the first a daughter, born Oct. 24, 1840, who died in infancy; the
second, Albert, born May 5, 1842, who died Feb. 24, 1844; third, William, born May 22, 1845, and who died at Brattleboro, Vermont, Sept. 2, 1862, an enlisted soldier in the Eleventh Regiment of Vermont Volunteers. The fourth, Lizzie, born Oct. 2, 1847, married Dr. Charles B. NICHOLS of Franklin Falls, New Hampshire, Jan. 24, 1872, where she died June 10, 1883, leaving one child William, born Jan. 22, 1873.
George MATTOCKS was born in Peacham, Vermont, in 1823 and entered the Wesleyan University of Middletown, Connecticut, in 1837 where he remained two years, and commenced the study of law in his father’s office. He died by suicide Jan. 23, 1844.
John MATTOCKS was born at Peacham, Vermont, July 19, 1814. At the age of 14, he entered Middlebury College where he graduated in 1832. He commenced the study of law in his father’s office and in March, 1834, went to Woodstock and remained four months in the law office of O.B. CHANDLER. In 1835, he spent some months in the office of County Clerk at Danville and in Nov. of that year located in Troy, N.Y. where he entered the law office of CUSHMAN and SEYMOUR with whom he remained a short time.
While completing his studies in the office of Judge GOULD, he became converted to religion under the preaching of Rev. Dr. BEMAN, with whose church he united in June, 1836, and immediately commenced the study of divinity. In 1837, he entered Yale, graduated in 1838, and entered the Presbyterian ministry. On the 30th of Oct. 1838, Mr. MATTOCKS married Mary Elizabeth, born in Windsor, Vermont, March 23, 1818, and daughter of Ebenezer BREWER. On the 15th day of Jan., 1839, Mr. MATTOCKS installed pastor of the Congregational Church at Keesville, New York, where he remained until called to St. Paul, Minn., as pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, in the fall of 1856. His wife Elizabeth (as she was called) died in
Keesville, May 22, 1851, leaving five children living – John, Brewer, Julia, Helen and Charles – three, George, Susan and Francis, dying in their infancy.
On the 5th day of July, 1852, Mr. MATTOCKS married Frances H., born at Clintonville, Nov. 23, 1831, and daughter of Dr. Ira HAYWOOD. She removed to St. Paul with her husband in 1856. Dying on the 22nd day of April, 1869, she left four chilren all living, Walter, James, Sherwood and Fannie.
On the 18th day of August, 1870, Mr. MATTOCKS married Juliet A., born in Keeseville, N.Y., May 25, 1833, and daughter of Jesse POTTER, by whom he had one child, a daughter Jessie, still living. On the 13th day of Nov., 1875, Mr. MATTOCKS died suddenly of apoplexy at his home in St. Paul.
John MATTOCKS, born at Keesville, N.Y., Aug. 13, 1839, removed to Chicago in July, 1859, and married Sarah F., daughter of Jacob HARRIS, March 15, 1868. She was born Sept. 10, 1850, in Chicago where they now reside. Their children are all living – John, born at Chicago April 18, 1869, Elizabeth, born at Chicago June 29, 1870 and Esther Louise, born at Chicago, July 17, 1876.
Brewer MATTOCKS, born at Keesville, N.Y., Sept. 12, 1841, removed to St. Paul Minnesota, in 1856 and to Faribault, Minn., in 1881 where he now resides. Nov. 28, 1865, he married Emma L. NORTON who was born at Montgomery, Ala., Sept. 14, 1840. Their children, all living are: Brewer, born at St. Paul, Feb. 9, 1867; Norton, born at St. Paul, July 20, 1869 and Ellen Requier, born at St. Paul, May 15, 1873.
Julia Brewer MATTOCKS.
Julia Brewer MATTOCKS, born at Keeseville, N.Y., Aug. 6, 1845, was married at St. Paul, Minn., May 12, 1868, to Henry Johnson NORTHRUP of Saginaw, Mich., who was born at Shoreham, Vermont, May 9, 1837. They reside at Saginaw City where their eldest child, Julia Mattocks who died Aug. 9, 1869, was born March 26, 1869. Two sons are now living: Henry Mattocks, born at Saginaw Apr. 23, 1870 and John Mattocks, born at Saginaw, Sept. 16, 1881.
Helen Peabody MATTOCKS.
Helen Peabody MATTOCKS, born at Keesville, N.Y., Nov. 20, 1846, married Feb. 26, 1874, George SPENCER, who was born at Westminster, Vt., Nov. 26, 1843. They reside at Duluth, Minn., and have three children: Elizabeth, born at Duluth, Minn., Jan. 5, 1875, George Herbert, born at Duluth, Minn., Aug. 7, 1876, and Helen Mattocks, born at Boston, Mass., May 2, 1883.
George MATTOCKS wa born at Keeseville, N.Y., June 9, 1844, where he died Oct. 8, 1844.
Susan Chandler MATTOCKS.
Susan Chandler MATTOCKS was born at Keesville, N.Y. June 18, 1848, where she died Oct. 9, 1848.
Francis MATTOCKS was born at Keeseville, Sept. 21, 1849, where he died Sept. 20, 1850.
Charles Finch MATTOCKS.
Charles F. MATTOCKS was born at Keeseville, March 12, 1851, where he died Aug. 10, 1853.
Walter Haywood MATTOCKS.
Walter H. MATTOCKS was born at Keeseville June 21, 1856, and resides at Chicago.
James Selby MATTOCKS.
James S. MATTOCKS was born at St. Paul, Minn., Dec. 11, 1860.
Sherwood Spencer MATTOCKS.
Sherwood S. MATTOCKS was born at St. Paul March 18, 1863.
Fannie Thompson MATTOCKS.
Fannie T. MATTOCKS was born at St. Paul, May 31, 1867
Jessie Potter MATTOCKS.
Jessie P. MATTOCKS was born at St. Paul, Dec. 18, 1874.
Chicago, Jan. 1, 1885.
Source: Alfred. W. Little, Records of the Emigrant James Mattocks Who Settled in Boston, Massachusetts in the 1600s and of Some of His Descendants Who Migrated to Chautauqua County, New York (Silver Spring, Maryland: unpublished manuscript, 1996).
THE EMIGRANT JAMES MATTOCKS
WHO SETTLED IN BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS IN THE 1600s
AND OF SOME OF HIS DESCENANTS
WHO MIGRATED TO CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY, NEW YORK
COMPILED BY ALFRED W. LITTLE
NOVEMBER 21, 1996
This compilation is drawn from several sources: An undocumented study entitled Mattocks from the Law Office of John and Walter MATTOCKS, 115 Monroe Street, Chicago, Illinois, dated January 1, 1885; additional undocumented data obtained from Nancy Lou KYLE PABODY of Frewsberg, Chautauqua Co., N.Y. including information shared with her by the late Glen ALLEN of Topeka, Kansas. Wherever I have been able to document information, the sources are noted immediately following.
JAMES (1) MATTOCKS of Totness, County Devonshire, England, (Mattocks, John and Walter MATTOCKS, op. cit., hereafter, JWM), died Boston, 1667; married MARY [SPOORE?], died 1682.
James MATTOCKS joined the Massachusetts Bay Colony prior to 1635 (JWM). He united with the First Church in Boston on the 24th day of the 12th month of 1638 (First Church records), and was listed as a freeman under the date Mar. 13, 1638-39. (Mass. Col. Rec., vol. 1, p. 196, printed in New England Historic and Genealogical Register [NEHGR] 3:96, Jan., 1849).
Savage wrote that James MATTOCKS, cooper, came from Bristol, England to Boston, perhaps before 1635, that his daughter Alice was then the wife of Nathaniel BISHOP and suggested that perhaps all his children were born in England (James Savage. A Genealogical Dictionary of the First Settlers of New England, Vol. III (1862). Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1965, p. 177). However a Boston record 18 (4) 1638 noted that Boston selectmen allowed `John SPOOR late of Clapton, in Somersetshire, to buy Mr. Wm WILKES house and ground, and that his brother, James MATTOCKE, a cooper, shall have liberty to live with him or in some other place in this town’ (Boston Town Record I:34). Charles E. Banks, citing Boston Town Records, declared that both SPOOR and James MATTOCK were from Clapton (C.E. Banks, Topographical Dictionary, p. 140). [Yet it is understood that the term `brother’ as used in our early history meant a male sibling, a brother-in-law, or a brother in Christ. Assuming that `brother’ meant in
this case `brother-in-law’, it can be taken that James MATTOCKS’ English origins have been tentatively established as being Clapton, rather than Totness as is stated in the Mattocks study (JWM). It may well be that SPOOR was the brother of Mary, thus establishing Mary MATTOCKS’ maiden name].
James MATTOCKS was admitted to the church at Mt. Wollaston for the winter season 24 (9) 1639 (C.H. Pope, Pioneers of Massachusetts, 1900, pp. 306-07).
The Book of Possessions, published about 1645, reported the names of owners of land in Boston, including those of James MATTOX and John SPOORE. (Justin Winsor. The Memorial History of Boston, 1630-1880. Boston: James Osgood Co., 1881, Vol. 1, p. 559-60). A site purchased by James MATTOCK, cooper, from Anthony STODDARD (16th day, 11th month, 1644, Suffolk Co. Deed I:156) was on Exchange Street which appears to be about one street distant from the site where Faneuil Hall was located 100 years later. Land sold to James MATTOCK in 1646 faced the then-waterfront on the south side of the `Neck’. (Ibid., Vol. 2, p. iv, vii, xii, xiv, xix). On July 27, 1653 James MATTOCKS was deeded from the Samuel BARNES estate a house, buildings, land, and a wharf facing the sea (Suffolk County Deed I:309). On the same day he deeded to Samuel and Constance MATTOCKS a house, buildings, land and wharf in Boston, with shop lately built, adjoining to the west land of said James MATTOCK; facing the sea (Ibid., I:311).
On October 18, 1648 Thomas VENNER, James MATTUCK [and four others named], “and the rest of the coopers of Boston and Charlestowne” were granted leave to “meete together” for the purpose of incorporating themselves into a guild for mutual protection. (Mass. Col. Rec. II:250 in NEHGR 47-438, Oct., 1893 and Records of Colony of Mass. Bay, Vol. III. Boston: William White, 1854, p. 133).
Later in 1654, James MATTOCK served on the jury of inquest in the case numbered 270 considering the cause of death of Matthew CANNEDGE, found to have been bludgeoned, according to the judgment returned 4th day, 10th month, 1654 at the Suffolk Court House. (NEHGR 96-273, July 1942).
James MATTOCK Sr. was appointed Packer of Flesh and Fish at a town meeting, Mar. 12, 1654-55. (Town Record 2:122-23, published in Robert Francis Seybolt. The Town Officials of Colonial Boston 1634-1775. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, 1939, p. 21).
In his will dated Jan. 21, 1666, James MATTOCK appointed his wife, Mary MATTOCK, as executrix. He gave 20 shillings each to his son, Samuel; his daughter Alice, wife of John LEWES; and to Mary, wife of Samuel BROWNE. The will was probated Aug. 1, 1667. (Recorded Book I:541). An inventory of the estate valued it at 277 pounds, 15 shillings, 5 pence. (Book V:48) (from Abstract of Early [Boston] Wills, NEHGR 15-325, Oct., 1861).
Mary MATTOCK’s will, written Jan. 8, 1680 and probated April 11, 1682 bequeathed to son Samuel and his children, James and Samuel; daughter Alice HOW, grandchildren Samuel and Joseph LEWIS, daughter Mary BISHOP; and grandchildren James, Mary, and Samuel BROWNE and Hannah BYSHOP (Pope, op. cit., pp. 307).
Children of James and Mary MATTOCKS:
1. Samuel, born, probably England 1625-35; married Constance FAIRBANKE.
2. Alice, born 1613-18, died, 1688; married 1632 Nathaniel BISHOP; married, second, 1659 John LEWIS (LEWES) (Savage, op. cit, Vol. I:185, Vol. 3:87).; married, third, 1668, Abraham HOW, Sr.; married fourth, 1683, John HARRIS.
3. Mary, married Boston July 9, 1661 Samuel BROWNE. By Jo: ENDECOTT, Govr. (Boston Marriages, NEHGR 20-42, Jan. 1866).
SAMUEL 2 MATTOCKS, son of James and Mary (SPOORE?) MATTOCKS, born Boston [?] 1625-1635 (JWM), died Boston after 1691/2 ( ); married Boston 30th day, 1st month, 1653, CONSTANCE FAIRBANKE, baptised 10th day, 11th month, 1635, daughter of Richard and Elizabeth (____) FAIRBANKE. (Boston City Document 130 and First Church Record in Boston. Births, Baptisms, Marriages and Deaths, 1630-1699. City of Boston, 1883, p. 3, 43). See final pages for the FAIRBANKS genealogy.
Samuel MATTOCK was appointed as one of two Cullers of Staves in 1669 and again in 1672/73. (Town Meeting Records. Seybolt, op. cit, p. 38, 43). He was appointed to the same position at the meeting of Selectmen for the years 1671/72 to 1691/92. (Ibid. 42-55, passim.)
Records of the Suffolk County Court, Session of 28 January, 1672-73: “Samuell MATTOCK presented for Idleness & neglecting his Family of which hee was convict in Court. The Court Sentanceth him to bee sent to the house of correction for an idle person & to pay Fees of Court.” (Colonial Society of Massachusetts. Records of the Suffolk County Court. Boston: the Society, 1933. Vol. 29, page 231). A 1676 record: “Constance MATTOX … had her licence renewed to keepe a Cookes Shop & sell beere & Sider by retaile … & her husband Samll MATTOX gave in bond Sureties for her observance of the laws … & that Shee should not sell Sider for more than two pence a quart.” (op. cit. Vol. 30, p. 700). In a 1678 suit against Samuel MATTOCK he paid the plaintiff “three pounds Sixteen Shillings & six pence to be paid in money and Six thite barrells.” (Ibid., p. 933).
The name of Samuel MATTOCKE appears as one of ninety petitioners in a petition dated Feb. 22, 1675 [drafted during the course of King Philip's War] addressed to the General Court of Massachusetts requesting that “… Fronteire townes be sufficiently Garrisoned to defend them from the rage of the Enimie” and that “some speedy Course be taken for the removall of those Indians that dwell in and amongst our Plantation to some place farther remote from us”. (Petition to the General Court, Relative to the War 1675-6, Mass. Archives 68:140, in NEHGR 16-62, Jan. 1862).
His burial site has not been determined. Copp’s Hill Burial Ground records, all of which appear to be published epitaphs, headstone inscriptions, etc., do not include the name of Samuel or Constance MATTOCK.
MATOCKS Probate Records, Suffolk Co.: **CHECK THE FOLLOWING**: 1. Ann-Guardianship 6218; 2. Constance-Will 3977; Eliz.-Guardianship 6219; 4. Jas.-Will 462; Jas.-Will 1768.
Children of Samuel and Constance MATTOCKS, all born at Boston:
1.Samuel, born Oct. 15,1659. (Boston City Document (BCD)130, p. 69).
2.Elizabeth 1661-Sept. 3,1661. (Ibid., p. 80).
3.James, born Oct. 27,1662, (Ibid., p. 84).
4.Constance, born Sept. 10, 1665. (Town Record in BCD 130, p. 96).
5.Zaccheus, born Sept. 15, 1668, died 1690. (Savage, op. cit., p. 177)
6.John, born Sept. 14,1669 (BCD 130, p. 111); married Elizabeth ___, born Boston, 1701. (Clarence Almon Torrey, New England Marriages Prior to 1700. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co.,1985, p. 497).
7.Elizabeth, born Aug. 18, 1670; married Jan. 6, 1697 William AMBROSE. (BCD 130, p. 115, 135).
8.Mehitabel, born Nov. 7, 1672; married Boston Aug. 29,1694 John BANKS (Ibid., p. 124, 217).
9.Mary, born Nov. 13, 1673, died Nov.12,1689. (Ibid. p. 128, 187).
10.Fairbanck, born Feb. 11, 1676. (Ibid., p. 138).
SAMUEL 3 MATTOCKS, son of Samuel and Constance FAIRBANKE(S) MATTOCKS, born Boston, Oct. 15, 1659, died, probably Boston, after 1702; married Charlestowne 2nd month 12th day, 1688 ANN MARCH, “daughter to ye Widdow DADEY of Charlestown”. (City Document 101, Boston Marriages. Boston: Municipal Ptg. Co., 1903; reprinted Baltimore: Genealogical Ptg. Co., 1977, page 291). Ann MARCH was the daughter of the late John and Martha (___) MARCH DADY of Charlestown. The `Widow DADEY’, whose given name was Martha, had been the wife and widow of John MARCH of Charlestown; she was again widowed at the death of John DADY, whom she married on June 29, 1676 in Charlestown, where the records denote her as `Elizabeth MARCH, widow’ (Charlestown VR I:75 in Robt. Charles Anderson. The Great Migration Begins. Boston; NEHGS, 1995, I:507). John DADY’s will was proved June 20, 1682 (MPR 5721 in Anderson, op. cit. I:506). John MARCH, settling in Charlestown, originated in the Parish Stepney (Shadwell), County Middlesex, England (Charles E. Banks, Topographical Dictionary, p. 112).
“Samll MATTOCK junr” is listed among the names of those who took the oath of allegiance in Boston the 11th of November, 1678, the oath being administered by the Honorable John LEVERETT, Governor. (Records of the Suffolk County Court printed in Colonial Society of Massachusetts. Collections. Boston: the Society, 1933, pp. 962-66).
Samuel MATTOCK was appointed as one of four hogreeves at the town meeting, March 11,
1694-95 as recorded in town records 7:219-20. (Seybolt, op. cit., p. 90).
A Samuel MATTOCKS, tailor of Boston, was named as a surety in the administration of an estate in Dec., 1710. (Suffolk County Probate File 3284 as printed in NEHGR 143-43, Jan. 1989). [The relationship between Samuel, the hogreeve, and Samuel, the tailor, has not been established. If they are one and the same this would explain undocumented assertions that he died in 1710].
Children of Samuel and Ann MARCH MATTOCKS, all born in Boston:
1.Samuel, born Dec. 17,1688, (BCD 130, p. 181), died 1727; married first, Sept. 11, 1712 Admonition TUCKER; married, second, Feb. 25, 1722, Sarah CROSS; married, third, Jan. 2, 1727, Mary SPOONER. (BCD 150, Boston Marriages, 1700-1809 Boston: Municipal Ptg. Office 1899, reprinted Baltimore: Gen. Pub. Co., 1977, p. 41,108,139).
2.Elizabeth, born Sept. 20,1691 (BCD 130, p. 196); married Boston, Sept. 19,1710 John MAVERICK. (NEHGR 97:56, Jan.,1943).
3.James, born Sept. 4, 1694, (Town records, printed in Boston City Document 130 in Boston Births, p. 215: “James of Samuel and Ann MATTOCK, born Sept. 4, 1694). Page 219: James of Samuel MATTOX died Sept. 3, 1694. Page 220, First Church Record: James MATTOCKS baptised Sept. 9, 1694). [The recorded death may well be an error].
4.Ann, born July 21, 1702, (BCD 43, Boston Births, 1700-1800. Boston, 1899, reprinted Baltimore, Gen. Ptg. Co., 1978, p. 16), died 1758; married 1739 Thomas BAKER. (Glenn ALLEN (GA) family data provided to Nancy KYLE PABODY).
JAMES 4 MATTOCKS, son of Samuel and Ann MARCH MATTOCKS, born Boston, Sept. 4, 1694, died Middletown, Conn., May 8, 1766 (JWM); married Feb. 24, 1726 SARAH PIERCE, (spelled PEARCE and PEARSE in BCD 150, p. 133), born 1710, died 1768. (GA). Dr. Cotton MATHER officiated at the marriage of James and Sarah. (BCD 150, p. 133).
The name of James MATTOCKS, Sentinel, appears as one among a total of nineteen sentinels and five officers on the Muster Roll of Captain John PENHALLOW from June 8th to November 15th, 1725. (Letters of Col. Thomas WESTBROOK and others Relative to Indian Affairs in Maine; Mass. Archives 91:204-05; printed in NEHGR 49:187-188, April, 1895). That this was dangerous duty is exemplified by Colonel WESTBROOK’s account of the experience of one of James’ fellow troopers, Sentinel Morgan MILES: “Morgan MILES from May 12th 1724 to Augt 18th 1725 put in p’ Approba[tion] of His Honr the Lt Govr; the sd MILES be taken at Arrowsick and Carrd away p’ ye Indians to Canada, who made his Escape from them and Return’d to His Post.” (Ibid.) [Morgan MILES served in the same company alongside James MATTOCKS. Capt. John PENHALLOW figured prominently in the efforts of Massachusetts to protect the settlers along the Maine coast from attacks by the Eastern Indians]. Two additional excerpts from Colonel WESTBROOK’s letters to Governor DUMMER of Massachusetts will suggest the hazards faced by
troopers such as James MATTOCKS under the command of Captain PENHALLOW. ” … [I] now wait for a fair wind to send Cap PENHALLOW with twenty men on board the Sloop to proceed to Arrowsick & St Georges, to see whether the Indians have not attckt those garrisons … There was sixty Indians at Blackpoint when they burnt the houses and kill’d the Cattle there, on the 29th of last April … [Falmouth, June 23d 1725].” ” … The wind came fair for Capt PENHALLOW to go East, which he Embract, and the Sloop had not been out of sight more than an hour before I rec’d a verbal acct from Lt Dominicus JORDAN (who was out with his Scout) that the Indians had kill’d a man at Spurwick garrison, and that he heard the Guns, and was on ye spott in less than two hours … [Falmouth, June 24th 1725]. (Mass. Achives 52:206-207. Printed in NEHGR 47:158-59, April, 1893). In giving instructions to the commanders of the two troops drawn out of the County of Essex to defend the towns in the County of York [Maine], Lieutenant Governor William DUMMER wrote from Boston, June 21, 1721 [1725?], “The Troopers must be assured, for their Encouragement, That the Governmt will allow them 100 lb. for each Scalp, besides their Wages, for such Indians as they shall kill in their Marchings & Scoutings” (Mass. Arch. 52:204, printed in NEHGR, op. cit., p. 157). [For an account of this struggle see Francis Parkman, A Half-Century of Conflict, Chapter 10 and 11, in France and England in North America, Vol. II, New York: Literary Classics of the United States, 1983].
The James MATTOCKS family evidently moved to Middletown during the period 1731-1739, between the births of Anne and Samuel. The baptism record of Samuel suggests that the arrival to Middletown was recent, inasmuch as James was still a member of the North Church in Boston.
The land records of Middletown, Connecticut, establish several land transactions involving James MATTOCKS. On July 26, 1745 Abijah MOORE conveyed one acre of land bounded by Mill Brook to James MATTOCKS for 30 pounds (11:416). A one acre parcel bounded on one side by Mill Brook was conveyed by James to Matthew TALCOTT on Nov. 22, 1748 for 100 pounds. (12:178). On March 20, 1749/50 James MATTOCK conveyed to Matthew TALCOTT one acre in the town plot together with a dwelling partly finished for 190 pounds (13:43). Finally, on May 14, 1754 Giles HALL deeded to James MATTOCKS a parcel on the west side of the river in Middletown for “Forty Pounds Money of the old Tenor”. (15:234).
James MATTOCKS evidently died intestate; no will is recorded nor are survivors named although one court record dated Mar. 30, 1768 refers to the `widdow’s dower’ (Probate Record II B:137). Over date of July 22, 1767, the commission appointed to settle the estate of James MATTOCKS found it insolvent with debts of twenty pounds and inventoried assets of eleven pounds. The inventory, presented to the court on Mar. 30, 1768, consisted of one-half acre of land, a large quantity of woodworking tools including a turning lathe valued at 2 shillings; also a “New trundel bed sted” valued at 4 shillings, a “meet tub” at 1s, 6 p, and 1 small Bible, as well as household furniture and clothing (II:419-20).
[James is said to be buried at the Riverside Cemetery in Middletown However, records
of cemetery inscriptions and epitaphs housed at the Middletown Public Library make no mention of the MATTOCKS name].
Children of James and Sarah PIERCE MATTOCKS:
1.Sarah, born Boston, Jan. 15, 1727. (BCD 43, p. 182).
2.Ann(e), born Boston, Oct. 12, 1731 (Ibid., p. 204); married, Middletown, Nov. 9,1752 John CHIPMAN. (Middletown Vital Records, vol. 2, p. 268).
3.James (JWM) born 1737. (GA).
4.Samuel, born Middletown, Dec. 30, 1739 (Middletown VR, 2:38), “Samuel, son of James, baptised Jan. 6, 1739/40, `father being a member in full communion with the new North Church in Boston'”. (I:67, 1st Cong. Ch., Middletown), died Vermont, Jan. 18,1804 (DAR Patriot Index, Part 2, p. 1875 and Vermont Vital Records); married Hartford, Conn., March 14, 1763 Sarah BIRDWELL. (First Church of Hartford Record, 1:252). First born: Samuel, baptised Dec. 23, 1764 (1st Church Record, 1:27). Captain Saml. MATTOCKS was commissioned in the Connecticut Line Jan. 1, 1777, credited to the Town of Hartford. (Rolls and Lists of Connecticut Men in the Revolution, 1775-1783. Hartford: Conn. Hist. Soc., 1901, p. 49). He resigned on Apr. 20, 1779. (Register of Army Officers, 1779-1879. Washington: T.H.S. Hamersly, (1881). Baltimore: Gen. Pub. Co., p. 15). Samuel was in residence in Tinmouth, Rutland Co., Vermont in 1778.
5.Mary, born Middletown, June 22, 1742. (Middletown VR 2:38).
6.Sarah, born Middletown, July 10,1744 (Ibid.), died 1805 (GA); married Litchfield, Conn., Feb. 24, 1765 Jesse KILBORN. (Litchfield VR 1:61)
7.John, born Middletown, Aug. 2, 1746 (Middletown VR 2:38), died 1769. (GA).
8.Joseph, born Middletown Aug. 21, 1751, died Jan. 21, 1758 (Middletown VR 2:38).
JAMES 5 MATTOCKS, son of James and Sarah PIERCE MATTOCKS, born probably Middletown or Westford (Westfield?), Conn., 1737 (GA), died after May 4, 1796; married, first, 1756, SARAH _____; James married, second, Litchfield, 1787, (GA), Mehitabel SMITH, widow of John SMITH who had died in early 1786. (Litchfield Prob. Rec. 4:264-65).
James MATTOCKS served in three successive campaigns during the French and Indian War. During the Campaign of 1756 he served in the Second Regiment, Third Company under Major Jehosaphat STARR of Middletown from April 2 to November 4, 1756. A muster roll of this company is dated Camp at Fort William Henry Oct. 13, 1756. (Rolls of Connecticut Men in the French and Indian War. Hartford: Connecticut Historical Society, 1903, Vol. I:114-16). James MATTOCK’s name also appears on the rolls in Colonel Joseph THATCHER’s Regiment for 1756, again under Major STARR. (Ibid., p. 116). In the Campaign of 1757, he served from March 28 to December 1 under Captain Eliphalet WHITTLESEY of Newington and First Lieutenant Timothy
HIERLIHY of Middletown in Col. Phineas LYMAN’s Regiment. (Ibid., p. 185-87). In 1758 James MATTOCKS served from March 28 to December 6 in the First Regiment, Sixth Company under Captain Samuel GAYLORD of Middletown under the command of Major General James ABERCROMBIE, Commander-in-Chief of the King’s Forces in North America. (Ibid., vol. II:16-18).
It is of interest to determine where James MATTOCKS served during these three campaigns in the struggle we call the French and Indian War and which in Europe is termed the Seven Years War. In the Campaign of 1756 some New England recruits were sent to Oswego to reinforce that fort on Lake Ontario. Thousands of provincial troops massed at Fort Edward and Fort William Henry in Washington County, N.Y. in preparation for an attack on Ticonderoga ── an attack which did not occur. The militia record above places James MATTOCKS at Fort William Henry in October, 1756. One can only conjecture where he served during the spring and summer.
The month of August, 1757 saw the fall of Fort William Henry, situated at the southern end of Lake George. Occupied by British and Colonial troops and family members, the fort was ill-prepared to withstand a siege by superior French and Indian forces under MONTCALM. After the surrender, MONTCALM’s Indian allies attacked the disarmed troops and their families. This event, known in colonial history as the Fort William Henry Massacre, is described in James Fenimore COOPER’s The Last of the Mohicans and in Francis Parkman. Montcalm and Wolfe (1884), Ch. XV in France and England in North America, Vol. II. New York: The Library of America, 1893. Colonial records suggest that James MATTOCKS, under the command of Phineas LYMAN, was stationed at Fort Edward, only a few miles distant from Fort William Henry. These records place Colonel Phineas LYMAN at Claverack, New York on May 3, 1757, Vanantwerp in Scortercork on May 16, Saratoga May 23-25, and Fort Edward from May 28 to Nov. 18, 1757. (General Orders of 1757 Issued by the Earl of Loudon and Phineas LYMAN in the Campaign Against the French. New York: Dodd, Mead and Co., 1899. Copy at Conn. State Library, Hartford). Survivors of the surrender and massacre would have made their way to Fort Edward.
In the Campaign of 1758, British and provincial forces took the fortress at Louisbourg in July. The same month another British and provincial force with General James AMBERCROMBIE at its head attempted and failed to take Ticonderoga in a poorly-executed and disastrous effort. In August, Fort Frontenac at the head of the St. Lawrence River was wrested from the French, as was Fort Duquesne in November, 1758. Undoubtedly James MATTOCKS was part of the failed attempt under AMBERCROMBIE in the attempt to take Ticonderoga.
In August 1766 Nathaniel WOODRUFF conveyed to James MATTOCKS two and one-half acres adjoining the highway running from the Court House to the Church in Litchfield. (Deeds 6:174). Then on Oct. 7, 1767 James sold for 13 pounds the same property, two and one-half acres with a dwelling house, to his brother Samuel MATTOCKS of Hartford County. (8:24). Samuel MATTOCKS later deeded back the property to James, who sold it for eighty pounds on March 1, 1784. (10:191, 11:426).
On May 17, 1790 James and Mehitabel MATTOCKS and Wait SMITH quitclaimed their
interest in three-fourths acre in Litchfield to David KILBORN, the property belonging to Mehitabel, being part of the estate of Mehitabel’s late husband, John SMITH. (13-363).
In September, 1793 a house on two and one-quarter acres was conveyed by J. STRONG to John MATTOCKS, his wife Sally, and daughter Idea. (15-514). [Is this the son of James 5 or another John, perhaps a cousin?].
Evidently his home place was sold on March 1, 1784 when James MATTOCKS sold two and one-half acres with a house, shop, and barn thereon for 80 pounds. (Litchfield Land Records 11:426)
On July 28, 1793 James MATTOCKS and Mehitabel, his wife, signed separation papers effectively ending their marriage. (Land Records, Litchfield, 15:701-703). Mehitabel remained in Litchfield where she was residing in 1807 and 1809 when she quitclaimed her interest in property in the estate of her late husband John SMITH. (25:21, 25:157).
James MATTOCKS was a resident of Kingsbury, Washington County, N.Y. in 1796 when he personally appeared in Litchfield on May 4th to execute for 37 pounds a quitclaim to his interest in one-quarter acre of land in Litchfield. (Land Record 15:742). James’ interests in the land were deeded to Elnathan HOLLEY, the husband of James’ daughter, Anne.
The choice of Washington County as a new residence after a failed marriage appears to have been a logical one. James MATTOCKS was no stranger to Washington Co.; as a young man he had served there for three campaigns during the French and Indian War. Also, James’ brother, Samuel, had settled in Rutland Co., Vt.,
which adjoins Washington County to the east.
The name MATTOCKS or variations thereof do not appear in the census for Washington County in 1790 or for 1810. However, for the U.S. Census of 1800, Town of Queensbury, three MATTOCKS families are enumerated: the James MATTICKS household; two males under ten, two males 26-45; 1 female under 10, 1 female 16-26 living side-by-side with the John MATTICKS household with two males under 10, one male 26-45, and one male over 45; one female under 10, one female 16-26 (Census roll, page 209). Nearby is the John MATTOX household with three males under 10, one 26-45 and one over 45 and two females under 10, one 16-26, living next door to the Clark BURLINGIM family (page 210). Possibly one of the over-45 males living in the John MATTICKS or the John MATTOX household is James (5), the father of John, James, and Ichabod. Ichabod himself may well be the second adult male, age 26-45 living in the James MATTICKS household, not far from the BURLINGAME family where Eunice resided.
A 1799 land sale by James MATTOCKS of Kingsbury, Washington County, deeding one acre of land in the Village of Sandy Hill, part of Lot 25, for the sum of 200 pounds was recorded on April 25, 1800. (D:386). [Sandy Hill is the former name of the present Village of Hudson Falls, probably only five miles from Fort Edward. The identity of the seller of the land, whether father or son, remains uncertain, although the considerable sum involved suggests James MATTOCKS, senior].
No sources have been located describing any involvement by James MATTOCKS in the Revolutionary War. His name is not found in Connecticut Revolutionary War Service or Index
to Revolutionary War Service, both indices housed at the U.S. Archives, Washington, D.C. Nor is his name listed in a published volume by the Litchfield DAR describing those who provided non-military service in the Revolutionary War, 1774-1784.
No probate records exist in Litchfield or Washington County for James MATTOCKS.
Children of James and Sarah (____) MATTOCKS:
1.James, born 1758, died 1758. (Mattocks-“James, his son bd. Jan 24, 1758″. Christ Church, Middletown, VI:31).
2.John, born 1760; married 1779 Abigail. (GA). An additional record for a John MATTOCKS, born 1771; married, 1789, Sally. (GA). John MATTOCKS, a Windsor chairmaker in Litchfield in 1797. (Alain C. White, History of Litchfield, 1720-1920. Litchfield: Enquirer Printing, 1920, p. 130; George M. Woodruff. A Genealogical Register of Residents in Litchfield, 1720-1800. Hartford Press, 1900, page 148, only the given name `John’ is provided – no birthdate).
3.Lucy, born Litchfield, Conn., Jan. 30, 1762. (Litchfield VR 1:64).
4.Anne, born Litchfield, Dec.5.1763 (Ibid.); married Litchfield Sept. 28, 1783 Elnathan HOLLY. (VR 1:81).
5.Sarah, born Litchfield June 29,1765 (VR 1:64), died Dec. 2, 1852 (Woodruff, Ibid.); married Litchfield, July 24,1783 Andrew PALMER. (VR 1:155; 2:172).
6.Edna, born Litchfield Sept. 16, 1767 (VR 1:64), died 1787. (GA).
7.Sally (GA). [Perhaps a reference to Sarah?].
8.James, born 1770, died Springfield, Pa., July 12, 1858; married Nov. 3, 1791 Abigail TAYLOR. (Marriage notice, Litchfield Weekly Monitor, Nov. 9, 1791; Woodruff, name only provided; see below*).
10.Ichabod, (Woodruff, name only provided), Litchfield, Dec. 23, 1773 (GA).
[Note: Woodruff lists seven children: Lucy, Anne, Sarah, and Edna with birthdates and perhaps other data but the three boys James, John, and Ichabod have no accompanying data].
*James MATTOCKS, Jr., born Kingsbury, Wash. Co., N.Y. Dec. 17, 1796 came [to Springfield Town, Bradford County] with his father Captain James MATTOCKS in 1806. Captain MATTOCKS, a soldier in the War of 1812, died July 12, 1858, age 88. James Jr. died 1887; his wife was born Granville, Wash. Co., 1798. (H.C. Bradsby. History of Bradford County, Pennsylvania. Chicago: S.B. Nelson, 1891, p. 1013). [U.S. Archives data on soldiers of the War of 1812 shows no Capt. James MATTOCKS from the State of Pennsylvania. Most likely he obtained his Captaincy after the war as a member of a local Pennsylvania militia. No James MATTOCKS is listed in the New York Council of Appointments, Military Minutes, 1783-1821. Bradford Co. is immediately south of Elmira, N.Y. Columbia Cross Road is a nearby village, just west of Springfield Township].
ICHABOD 6 MATTOCKS, son of James and Sarah MATTOCKS, born Litchfield, Conn., Dec. 23, 1773, (GA), died Independence, Allegany Co., N.Y., Mar. 4, 1833 (Probate File 18, Batavia, N.Y.); married probably Queensbury, Washington Co., N.Y. Jan. 24, 1802 (GA) EUNICE LORRAINE BURLINGAME, born Fairfield, Franklin Co., Vermont, Jan. 14, 1781 (Nelson Burlingame, Burlingame Manuscript, Merrilan, Wis., 1971, I:149), died, Chautauqua Co., probably at Gerry, New York, Oct. 8, 1857, age 76-8-24 (Chrowe’s Corner Cemetery records, published in Jamestown, N.Y. Post-Journal, Dec. 27, 1969), daughter of Clark and Patience (SOPER) BURLINGAME (Burlingame Manuscript, Ibid.). Eunice married, second, 1833-1838, Stephen THAYER.
The MATTOCKS and BURLINGAME families were near neighbors in Queensbury, Washington Co., N.Y. in 1800. A few years later both the Clark BURLINGAME and the Ichabod MATTOCKS families had moved westward to Genesee County.
Land records of the Holland Land Company indicate that Ichabod MATTOCKS purchased land in lot 6, town 10, range 2 on May 11, 1811. (Karen Livsey, Western New York Land Transactions, 1804-1824. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1991, pp. 66, 226, 227, 308). Originally part of Genesee County, Town 10 (Attica) is now part of Wyoming County. Lot 6 is located in the east-central area of the town near Attica Center. (Land ownership map of Wyoming Co., N.Y.; Philadelphia: Newel S. Brown, 1853).
Military records for the War of 1812 show a Private Ichabod MATTOCKS in Capt. Cheney MUNGER’s Company, Major Parmenio ADAM’s Regiment, New York State Volunteers. The name appears on the company muster roll and the pay roll for the same period: Dec. 20, 1813 to Jan. 5, 1814. Term of service-17 days. Pay per month, 8 dollars; amount of pay received: 4 dollars 38 cents. (U.S. Archives, Military Records, War of 1812). New York State records confirm that Chauncey MUNGER was appointed as Ensign in 1809, Genesee County and as Cheney MUNGER as Captain in Genesee County in 1811. (Military Minutes of the Council of Appointments, 1783-1821, Volume II. Albany: State Printer, 1901, p. 1100, 1275).
U.S. Archives sources list no pension applications for Ichabod or his father, James.
The 1810 New York Census records Ichabod MATTOCKS in the Town of Sheldon, Genesee County, New York. (Two males under 10, one 26-44; one female under 10, one 26-44). Sheldon Town at that time included present-day Sheldon, Arcade, Java, Attica, Bennington, Orangeville, and Wethersfield Townships. No other MATTOCKS households are enumerated in the 1810 census for Genessee County. The 1820 New York Census locates Ichabod in Alexander Town, Genesse Co., (p. 006). (Four males under 10, two 10-15, one 26-44; two females under 10, one 26-44). By 1830 he and his family were in Attica, now Wyoming Co. (p. 115). (Two males 10-15, two 15-20, one 50-60; one female 20-30, one 50-60). The Constantine RUGG household is enumerated two lines from `Achabod MATTOCK’. Betsy RUGG was to marry James MATTOCKS four years hence.
Land records for Genesse County show that on May 13, 1825 Ichabod received by deed
from the Holland Land Company 58 acres, being the north part of lot 6, section seven, town ten [Town of Attica]. The total amount paid was $366.94. (13:310). Ichabod MATTOCKS and Eunice, his wife, sold part of the original parcel on May 6, 1825 for $160. (19:99).
Ichabod MATTOCKS joined the Presbyterian Church of Attica in 1829. (Church records of births, membership, marriage, 1823-1939).
Ichabod died in Independence, N.Y. after falling ill there, probably during a journey to visit his brother, James, in Springfield, Bradford County, Pennsylvania. On Sept. 23, 1833, James MATTOCKS [presumably Ichabod's son], deposed that Ichabod MATTOCKS died on or about the 4th day of March last in the home of Nathaniel COVILLE in the Town of Independence when he was there with an inflammation of the lungs while on a journey and died after about a week’s sickness. The deposition names Eunice as the widow and eight surviving children as named below, all of the Town of Attica. (File 18, Genessee Co. Surrogate’s Office, Batavia, N.Y.). Probate Records (1:217) indicate that he died intestate. On Sept. 25, 1833 his son, James, was appointed administrator of the estate after Eunice MATTOCKS renounced the responsibility. An inventory of personal property of an agricultural nature was totaled at a value of $442. (1:442, file 18).
On May 2, 1836 the heirs of Ichabod MATTOCKS (Francis MOORE and Polly, his wife; Sally MATTOCK; Ichabod MATTOCK and Malinda, his wife; James MATTOCK and Betsy, his wife; and Truman MATTOCK) quitclaimed to John MATTOCK their interest in the estate of Ichabod MATTOCKS, Senior. Ichabod and Malinda signed the document on Sept. 14, 1836 in Genesee County; the remaining six, Francis, Polly, James, Betsy, Truman, and Sally signing in Chautauqua County, New York on July 4, 1836. (44:260). Steven THAYER and Eunice, his wife, of the town of Orangeville, Genesee County, Eunice “being the widow and relict of Ichabod MATTOCK of the Town of Attica” quitclaimed for $200.00 their interest in the estate of Ichabod MATTOCK. (Aug. 13, 1838; 51:82). Samuel MATTOCK of the Town of Gerry, County of Chautauqua, sold his interest in 1839 (49-497), as did John MATTOCK and Mary, his wife, of Attica, on Aug. 10, 1838. (49:495).
Ichabod MATTOCKS may be buried at the Attica Center Cemetery. Eunice BURLINGAME MATTOCK THAYER, who died in 1857, is buried near her son, John, at the Maple Grove Cemetery (Chrowe’s Corner) in Gerry, Chautauqua County.
Children of Ichabod and Eunice MATTOCKS (Information from Nancy KYLE PABOY [sic]):
1.Ichabod, born Oct. 11, 1803, died 1851; married Sept. 25, 1826 Malinda JONES, born 1803, died 1870.
2.Laura, born July 2, 1805, died Jan. 5, 1806.
3.James, born Dec. 16, 1806. (Lilli ELY LITTLE Datebook).
4.Polly, born Feb. 8, 1808; married 1834 Francis MOORE.
5.John, born May 29, 1811, died Jan. 11, 1877; married 1836 Mary C. died, 1842; married, second 1842 Lucy BUMPUS (LEL Datebook), died May 11, 1897, age 76-7-6.
6.Truman, born July 11, 1813; married 1836 Marietta RUGG, born July 13, 1815, died
1849; married, second, 1850 Mary E. MARSH.
7.Sally, born Apr. 14, 1815, died Sept. 6, 1846; married 1834 ____ MOORE; married, second, 1838 George RUGG, born Poultney, Vt., April 19, 1817.
8.Samuel, born Feb. 10, 1817; married 1839.
9.Abel, born Attica, Genesee Co., N.Y. Mar. 12, 1819, died Dec. 26, 1906; married, Jan., 1843, Harriet STARR, born, Lee, Oneida Co., Dec. 31, 1818, died Jan 18, 1905.
10.Edwin, born July 18, 1821, died Feb. 4, 1823, age 2 years. (Stone inscription, Attica Center Cemetery (Jillson Road) as reported in Historical Wyoming 2:75).
An original land purchase by a John MATTOCKS in Chaut. Co., N.Y. April 26, 1819 Lot 63, Town 3 (Ripley), range 15. (Livsey, op. cit., p. 243). Possibly the brother of Ichabod. Lot 63 is on the border with Mina Town. Counting from the east it is the 5th of 8 lots].
JAMES 7 MATTOCKS, son of Ichabod and Eunice MATTOCKS, born Dec. 16, 1806, died Ellington, Chautauqua Co., N.Y., May 3, 1875; married Feb. 20, 1834 (Lilly ELY LITTLE Datebook), ELIZABETH (BETSY) RUGG, born Poultney, Rutland Co., Vermont, Jan. 19, 1812, died June 10, 1892, (Ibid.), age 80-4-22, daughter of Constantine and Sybil BACKUS RUGG.
James and Betsy RUGG were in Chautauqua County in July, 1836, when they quitclaimed their interest in the real property of James’ late father. On Sept. 9, 1837 Willink and Company conveyed to James MATTOCKS fifty acres in Lot 9, Town of Gerry for $217.50. (30:428). A purchase in Lot 9 of one acre adjoining land of Truman MATTOCKS for $100 was made in 1841. (43-61). These two parcels were sold on July 1, 1847 for $500. (43:62). However, the family remained in Gerry Township, the 1850 N.Y. census for Gerry (p. 198) showing James MATTOCKS, 49, born N.Y.; Betsy, 38, born Vermont, Cornelia, 12; Sarah, 9; John B., 7; and Charles C., 1; all children born in New York. An 1854 land ownership map locates the “J. MATTOX” farm in lot 2 in Gerry Township on the west side of what is now called the Harris Hill Road. The “C. RUGG” property is located immediately to the south, bounded on the west by the Harris Hill Road and on the south by the Hanson Road.
On May 12, 1853 a thirty-eight acre parcel was conveyed to James MATTOCKS in Lot 49, Ellington. (64:391). The 1855 New York census for Ellington (p. 23) shows the MATTOCKS household next to the Samuel ELY household. James MATTOCKS’ birthplace was given as Essex County, New York. [Essex Co. is north of Washington Co.; Crown Point and Ticonderoga are within its boundaries]. In 1859 the family acquired additional land in lot 49. (86:142).
The 1860 Census for Ellington shows James MATTOCKS, age 53, born Vermont, farmer, with $1000 in real estate and $650 personal property; wife, Elizabeth, age 48, born in Vermont; children Sarah 20, John 17 and Charles 10, [an orphaned nephew] born in New York. A land ownership map shows the farm on the Dry Brook Road, just south of the farm of Samuel ELY, father of Clark B. ELY (Topographical Atlas of Chaut. Co., Philadelphia: Wm. Stewart Pub.,
1867). The 1870 census for Ellington (p. 367) shows James MATTOCKS, 63, born in New York, farmer with real assets of $5450 and personal property of $1480; Elizabeth, age 58, born Vermont; and John 26 and Charles 20, born in New York.
In 1873 James and Elizabeth MATTOCKS conveyed to John B. MATTOCKS forty acres in Lot 49 Ellington and 20 acres in Lot 56 in Poland. (146:44). The 1880 census records Elizabeth, now 68, boarding with the family of her son, John B. MATTOCKS, 34, farmer, his wife Augusta, and their daughter, Grace, age one. Elizabeth died in 1892 at the home of her son, John.
James and Elizabeth left no wills nor were their estates administered under court supervision; they are buried at the Maple Grove Cemetery, Chrowe’s Corner, Gerry.
Children of James and Elizabeth RUGG MATTOCKS: (from GA and Nancy KYLE PABODY)
1.Cornelia A., born Mar. 1, 1835, died Dec. 26, 1836.
2. Cornelia Adele, born Gerry, N.Y., Dec. 4, 1837, died Frewsburg, N.Y., May 10, 1912; married Sinclairville Jan. 4, 1859, Clark B. ELY, born Hebron, N.Y. Oct. 22, 1837, died Jamestown, N.Y., Oct. 15, 1926 (ELY Bible), son of Samuel and Artless CLARK ELY.
3.Sarah, born Apr. 10, 1840, died Jan. 14, 1916 (LEL Datebook); married Sept. 8, 1865 George HITCHCOCK.
4.John, born May 26, 1843, died Apr. 27, 1906 (LEL Datebook); married Augusta HOTCHKISS. Daughter Grace MATTOCKS married a SCHERMERHORN.
5.Adelbert W., born Feb. 11, 1852, died Feb. 28, 1854.
RICHARD FAIRBANKS, born probably England, died Boston, after January 1654/55 and before April 15, 1667; married by 1633 ELIZABETH _____.
Savage suggests that Richard FAIRBANKS “came [in 1633] with COTTON in the Griffin, at least his union with the church here was on the same day with Elder LEVERETT and with Governor BRENTON and Edward HUTCHINSON, in the month after the great teacher arrived … ” (James Savage, op. cit., Vol II, p. 137). [The great teacher herein referred to is the Puritan clergyman John COTTON, Vicar at Boston, Lincolnshire, who fled England after being ordered to appear before an ecclesiastical court. Some of his flock sailed with him to Massachusetts Bay, where the young city of Boston was named primarily to honor him. He was chiefly responsible for the exile of Anne HUTCHINSON and for the expulsion of Roger WILLIAMS. COTTON's daughter was the wife of Increase MATHER and the mother of Cotton MATHER].
Richard FAIRBANKS was admitted to the Boston Church, October, 1633, as was “Elizabeth FAIREBANCKE the wife of our brother Richard FAIRBANCKE” (BChRec 16). He was made a freeman May 14, 1634 (Mass Bay Col, Rec.I:369).
In 1635, contrary to law, he sold two houses in Sudbury End to “twoe strangers”; the
town officers voided the sale on June 6, 1636 (Boston Town Rec. I:10). Town Record of August 7, 1637: “Leave is granted to Richard FAIRBANK to sell his shop to ____ SAUNDERS, a bookbinder”. (BTR I:19). The Boston Book of Possessions, 1645 (pp. 23-24) records and describes his four parcels of land: a house and garden, a garden, four acres in New Field, and five acres in Fort Field. In January of 1637/38 he was granted a Great Allotment of 23 acres at Muddy River (BTR I:25). On May 29, 1643 John WINTHROP, Governor, Valentine HILL, merchant, “Richard FAYREBANKES”, Robert TURNER and James DAVIS were authorized to dig a creek for the harbor of boats in the marsh … ” (BTR I:173).
An innkeeper, he was licensed to sell wine and strong water in Boston, March 12, 1637/8, Nov. 4, 1646 (MBCR I:221, II:173). He was also postmaster, being appointed by the General Court in 1639 to have charge of all letters voluntarily brought to his house `from beyond the sea, or [which] are to be sent thither … ‘ He was allowed one pence for each letter handled. (MBCR I:281). Because it was both an inn and a post office, the residence of Richard FAIRBANKS also became a place to conduct business. Town Record of 1642: `Richard FAYERBANKES … promised to give his endeavor in dealing with such as have milk to sell, and to direct them where they may be provided for’. This inn was apparently the same one later known as the Blue Anchor (BTR 1:68 and BBOP 102 in Robert Charles Anderson. The Great Migration Begins. Boston: NEHGS, 1995, I:649).
Richard FAIRBANKS held various offices. In 1634 Bostonians voted that swine should not be allowed to run at large, but should be `kept up in yards’, and two years later chose Richard FAIRBANKS as hogreeve with power to impound all strays. (BTR I:13). In 1639 and 1640 he was appointed as Overseer of Fences; in 1639 as Foldkeeper and Hogreeve; and in 1643, Surveyor of Highways. (Robert Seybolt. Town Officials of Colonial Boston, 1634-1775. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, 1939, p. 9-12). In 1654 he was admitted to the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company (HAHAC 1:177).
The name of Richard FAIRBANKE was one of fifty-eight on a list of Boston men to be disarmed for supporting a petition in support of the Reverend John WAINWRIGHT. Holding and expressing such opinions [as those proposed by WAINWRIGHT and his half-sister, Anne HUTCHINSON, both of whom were to be banished from the colony] were declared to be dangerous errors. Those who signed the petition were ordered to hand over all guns, swords, powder, shot, etc. (MBCR I:211). FAIRBANKS soon joined a large list of Boston men who repudiated their support for WAINWRIGHT (WP III:513 in Robert Charles Anderson, op. cit., I:649).
Richard FAIRBANKS died after Jan. 29, 1654/5 (Land Record II:105-06) and before April 15, 1667 (LR V:190-92), the latter deed making reference to land purchased from the late Richard FAIRBANKES. [No Richard FAIRBANKS in Suffolk Co. Probate Index}.
Children of Richard and Elizabeth FAIRBANKS:
1. Constance, baptised Boston, Jan. 10, 1635/36 (BChRec 280); married Samuel MATTOCK. (BVR 43).
2. Zacheus, baptised Boston Dec. 8, 1639 (BChR 284), died Boston Nov. 10, 1653.
Lorenzo S. Fairbanks. Genealogy of the FAIRBANKS Family. Boston: American Printing and Engraving, 1897, p. 23-27. Contains essentially the same information as does Anderson’s Great Migration but lacks documentation.
Source: Robert S. Wakefield, “George1 and John1 Lewis of Brenchley, Kent, England, and Scituate, Massachusetts,” American Genealogist 68.
George1 LEWIS and John1 LEWIS, presumed to be brothers, first appeared in New England in 1635, in the town of Scituate, Massachusetts. George LEWIS, who later moved to Barnstable, had elder children Mary, Thomas, George, James and Edward, born before arrival in New England (Amos Otis, Genealogical Notes of Barnstable Families, 2 vols. [Barnstable, Mass., 1888-90], 2:119-20). John LEWIS had married in Tenterden, county Kent, England, and sailed to New England with his wife Sarah and daughter Sarah (NEHGR 66:356). Records of the immigrants and their families have now been found in Brenchley, county Kent.
1 GEORGEA LEWIS, father of the immigrants, married at Brenchley, county Kent, England, on 24 May 1596 DENNIS FORMAN, baptized at Brenchley on 15 August 1579 and buried there on 10 January 1625/6, daughter of Clement and Margery (BALDOCK) FORMAN of Brenchley, who were married at Lamberhurst, county Kent, on 16 February 1567/8. George LEWIS was buried at Brenchley on 11 July 1631, without leaving a will.
Clement FORMAN of Brenchley, husbandman, left a will dated 31 October 1599, proved 16 January 1599/1600, naming wife Margery, daughter Dennis LEWIS and granddaughter Margery LEWIS (Consistory and Archdeaconry Court of Rochester, Registered Wills, hereafter Rochester Wills, 19(1):100).
The widow Margery FORMAN of Brenchley left a will, dated 6 May 1610 and proved 20 February 1611/2, which devised land to her daughter Denis for life and then to her three grandsons, George, James and John LEWIS. Her son-in-law George LEWIS was named executor. The will also mentioned sisters Elizabeth, wife of Thomas CICHHINHAM [i.e., KITCHINGHAM], and Mary, wife of Stephen BURT; and grandchildren Margery, George, James and John LEWIS. (Rochester Wills 20:317.)
Children (LEWIS) of GeorgeA and Dennis (FORMAN), all bp. Brenchley, co. Kent:
i MARGERY bp. 4 Dec. 1597; bur. Brenchley 18 June 1619.
2 ii GEORGE1 bp. 31 Aug. 1600; m. MARY —.
iii JAMES bp. 17 April 1603, mentioned 6 May 1610 in his grandmother’s will; n.f.r.
3 iv JOHN1 bp. 1 Nov. 1606; m.(1) SARAH MEAD, (2) ALICE (MATTOCK) BISHOP.
v ELIZABETH bp. 2 Feb. 1613/4; n.f.r.
2 GEORGE1 LEWIS was baptized at Brenchley, county Kent, on 31 Au-
gust 1600 and died at Barnstable, Massachusetts, before 1 March 1663/4, when his widow swore to his inventory (see below).
As “Goodman LEWIS Senior,” he joined the church of the Rev. John LOTHROP at Scituate on 20 September 1635 (NEHGR 9:280). He was admitted as a freeman of Plymouth Colony on 3 January 1636/7 (Nathaniel B. Shurtleff and David Pulsifer, eds., Records of the Colony of New Plymouth in New England, 12 vols. [Boston, 1855-61], hereafter Plym. Col. Recs., 1:48).
On 8 January 1639, George LEWIS of Scituate, clothyer, sold his dwelling house in Scituate to Richard WILLIS (Plym. Col. Recs., 12:53). He apparently moved to Barnstable shortly afterwards with other members of Rev. LOTHROP’s church. He was “of Barnstable” on 22 March 1642 (Plym. Col. Recs., 12:89).
On “the first day of February 1654,” George LEWIS sold land in Barnstable to Samuel MAYO; “Mary LEWES the wife of George LEWES acknowledged her free consent… this 2nd of the first month 1654 [i.e., 2 March 1654]” (Barnstable Town Records [Hinckley transcript], Vol. 1, 1640-1713, pp. 139-40 [Mss/B/B36/V. 1, at New England Historic Genealogical Society, Boston]).
On 1 March 1663/4, Mr. HINCKLEY administered the oath to widow LEWIS for the truth of the inventory of the estate of George LEWIS deceased (Plym. Col. Recs., 4:55). The undated will of George LEWIS Sr. was exhibited at the 3 March 1663/4 court. It named wife Mary; sons Ephraim, George, Thomas, James, Edward and John; and daughter Sarah LEWIS. (MD 16:23.)
Samuel DEANE (History of Scituate, Massachusetts [Boston, 1831], 303) and others state that George married in England Sarah JENKINS (but statements by DEANE should be used with great caution). The only documented wife of George LEWIS is Mary who signed the 1654 deed and is named in the will. The statement by son John LEWIS (see below) seems to imply that she was the mother of at least the last three children. If George LEWIS married after he had settled in Scituate in 1635, one would expect it to be mentioned in LOTHROP’s records. Likewise, if a wife had died in Plymouth Colony one would expect that to be in LOTHROP’s records as well. This strongly suggests that he married Mary in England and that she was his only wife.
The 14 April 1670 list of the inhabitants of Barnstable includes Edw’d LEWIS, Geo. LEWIS, James LEWIS, John LEWIS, Thos. LEWIS and Widow LEWIS (Frederick Freeman, The History of Cape Cod: The Annals of the Thirteen Towns of Barnstable County, 2 vols. [Boston, 1862], 2:271).
Children (LEWIS) of George1 and Mary (—):
i MARY2 bp. Brenchley, co. Kent, 27 Dec. 1625; she m. Scituate 14 Nov. 1643, as 1st wife, JOHN1 BRYANT, and is called “the daughter of Gorge [sic] LEWIS of Barnstable” in the marriage record (Plym. Col. Recs., 8:17). For John1 BRYANT,
see NEHGR 48:46-53 and Selim Walker McArthur, McARTHUR-BARNES Ancestral Lines (Portland, Maine, 1964), 123.
ii GEORGE bp. Brenchley 11 Nov. 1627; m. Barnstable 1 Dec. 1654 MARY3 LUMBART (Plym. Col. Recs., 8:45), bp. Scituate 8 Oct. 1637, dau. of Bernard2 LOMBARD (Thomas1)(TAG 52:139).
iii THOMAS bp. Brenchley 5 Jan. 1630/1; m. Barnstable 15 June 1653 MARY2 DAVIS (Plym. Col. Recs., 8:45), dau. of Dolor1 DAVIS (MD 24:71-73).
iv JAMES bp. Brenchley 25 March 1632; m. Barnstable Oct. 1655 SARAH2 LANE (Plym. Col. Recs., 8:46), dau. of George1 LANE of Hingham, Mass. (George Lincoln, History of the Town of Hingham…, 3 vols. in 4 [Hingham, 1893], 2:411, 441.) She was apparently the “[Sar]ah LANE” bp. Hingham March 1638, according to the Hobart Journal (NEHGR 121:10).
v EDWARD b. prob. England ca. 1634; m. Barnstable 9 May 1661 HANNAH2 COBB (MD 10:250), b. Scituate 5 Oct. 1639, dau. of Henry1 COBB (MD 3:73; Frank Farnsworth Starr, The WILLIAMSON and COBB Families [Hartford, Conn., 1896], hereafter WILLIAMSON-COBB, 41-45).
vi JOHN b. Scituate 2 March 1637/8 (MD 10:249), bp. there 11 March 1637/8 (NEHGR 9:281). He was killed by the Indians 26 March 1676 (TAG 60:239). On 3 fifth month [July] 1676, Shuball DIMACKE deposed that he heard John LEWIS Sr., the son of George LEWIS Sr., living at Barnstable, say, some time before he went out last to war, that he would leave what he had with Samuel BRYANT to order for him; and if he came not again, he should take all. On the same date. Hannah and Mary DAVIS deposed that they heard him say the above, but that Samuell BRYANT should help maintain his [LEWIS's] mother, along with the rest of his brothers, so long as she lived. (Plymouth Colony, Mass., Probates 3:175.) These records prove that Mary A.S. ANDERSON erred when she said that John married Margaret and left an only son (Ancestry and Posterity of Joseph SMITH and Emma HALE [Independence, Mo., 1929], 426).
vii EPHRAIM b. Barnstable 23 July 1641 (MD 10:249), bp. there 25 July 1641 (NEHGR 9:282). He was living in 1663 when he was named in his father’s will; he probably d. before 1670, as he is not in the list of Barnstable inhabitants mentioned above.
viii SARAH b. Barnstable 2 Feb. 1643 (MD 10:249), bp. there 11 Feb. 1643 (NEHGR 9:282); m. (1) Barnstable 26 Dec. 1663 JAMES2 COBB (MD 3:73), b. Plymouth 14 Jan. 1634, son of Henry1 COBB (MD 3:73; WILLIAMSON-COBB, 41-55). She m. (2) Barnstable 23 Nov. 1698, as 3d wife, JONATHAN2 SPARROW (MD 14:87), son of Richard1 SPARROW (Mary Walton Ferris, DAWES-GATES Ancestral Lines, 2 vols. [n.p., 1931-43], 2:765-68; N. Grier Parke, The Ancestry of Lorenzo ACKLEY and His Wife Emma Arabella BOSWORTH [Woodstock, Vt., 1960], 41-42).
3 JOHN1 LEWIS was baptized at Brenchley, county Kent, on 1 November 1606. He married first at Tenterden, county Kent, on 1 March 1631/2 SARAH MEAD; she was baptized at Tenterden on 29 November 1612, daughter of James MEAD (NEHGR 66:356).
The 21 February 1631/2 marriage license calls him John LEWIS of Tenterden, bachelor, butcher, age about twenty-four, and calls her Sarah MEAD, spinster, age about twenty, daughter of James MEAD, deceased (Joseph H. Cowper, ed., Canterbury Marriage Licenses, 1619-1660 [Canterbury, 1894],
Passengers on the Hercules from Sandwich, England, to New England in April 1635 included John LEWIS of Tenterden, wife Sarah and daughter Sarah (Peter Wilson Coldham, The Complete Book of Emigrants,
1607-1660 [Baltimore, 1987], 132).
John LEWIS was admitted as a freeman of Plymouth Colony on 2 January 1637/8 (Plym. Col. Recs., 1:74), and it was probably after that date that he was added to a list of freemen that had been compiled on 7 March 1636/7 (Plym. Col. Recs., 1:53). He resided in Scituate where he was a surveyor of highways 3 March 1639/40 and 2 June 1640 (Plym. Col. Recs., 1:141, 156). On 6 March 1648/9, he was granted a license to keep an ordinary at “Seteaat” (Plym. Col. Recs., 2:137).
(There was another unidentified John LEWIS in Plymouth Colony too old to be a son of the above John. He was a servant of Mr. VASSALL on 2 March 1646/7, was in trouble with the court on 9 June 1653, and had “departed this government” by 6 March 1654/5 [Plym. Col. Recs., 2:111, 3:36, 74].)
On the “5th day of the 11th moneth 1650″ [i.e., 5 January 1650/1], “Sara LEWIS Daughter to Sister LEWIS a member of the Situate church” was baptized at the First Church of Boston (Richard D. Pierce, The Records of the First Church in Boston 1630-1868, Col. Soc. Mass. Pubs., 39-41 [Boston, 1961], hereafter Boston 1st Ch. Recs., 39:320). Sarah, the wife of John LEWIS, died in Boston on the 12th of the 5th month 1657 [i.e., 12 July 1657] (Boston Rec. Comm. Rep. 9[Boston, 1908]:61).
John LEWIS married second in Boston on 22 November 1659 ALICE BISHOP, widow (Boston Rec. Comm. Rep., 9:71). She was daughter of James MATTOCK; her first husband has not been identified (he was not Nathaniel BISHOP). The will of James MATTOCKE, dated 21 January 1666 (with codicil of 28 January 1666) and proved 1 August 1667, names wife Mary; son Samuel; daughter Alice, the wife of John LEWES; and daughter Mary, the wife of Samuel BROWNE (Suffolk Co., Mass., Probates 1:541). The will of widow Mary MATTOCKE, dated 8 January 1680[/1] and proved 11 April 1682, bequeaths to son Samuel MATTOCKE land for his life (and names him executor), then to his children; to Samuel’s son James wharf and other property, he to pay to his brother Samuel £30 at age twenty-one; to daughter Alice HOW west end of house for life, then to Mary MATTOCKE’s grandson John MATTOX, he to pay £5 each to the following grandchildren: Constance MATTOCKE, Mehitable MATTOCKE, Elizabeth MATTOCKE, Mary MATTOCKE and Samuel LEWIS; to daughter Mary BISHOP for life east end of house, then to Mary MATTOCKE’s grandson Zacheus MATTOCKE, he to pay £5 each to the following grandchildren: Joseph LEWIS, James BROWN, Mary BROWN, Samuel BROWN and Hannah BISHOP; to two daughters movables (Suffolk Probates 6:390). Alice (MATTOCK)(BISHOP)
LEWIS is said to have married (3) Abraham HOWE and (4) John HARRIS of Rowley (see Daniel Wait Howe, HOWE Genealogies, 2[Boston, 1929]:6; and George Brainard Blodgett and Amos Everett Jewett, Early Families of Rowley, Massachusetts [Rowley, 1933], 137 [citing Suffolk Deeds 22:79]).
On 31 May 1663, “goody LEWIS” was admitted a member of the First Church of Boston (Boston 1st Ch. Recs., 39:58); since Benoni and Nathaniel were baptized as sons of “our sister LEWIS,” this admission must be for Alice.
On 2 March 1662, John LEWES Sr. of Boston, butcher, sold a dwelling house in Boston to Habbacuke GLOVER, agent to Robert THOMPSON of the city of London (Suffolk Deeds, 14 vols. [Boston, 1880-1906], 4:83-86). On 23 August 1669, John LEWIS Sr. of Boston, butcher, sold to John FARNHAM a dwelling house in Boston; on 24 August 1669, Alice LEWIS, wife of John LEWIS, quitclaimed her rights (Suffolk Deeds, 6:83-84a).
(There was another John LEWIS in Boston at the same time. On 8 September 1669, John LEWIS of Boston, Marriner, and wife Ann sold a dwelling house in Boston to Thomas PLATTS [Suffolk Deeds, 6:96-98]. As John LEWIS of Boston, seaman, he had purchased this land on 21 September 1653 [Suffolk Deeds, 2:30-31].
This man does not appear to be a son of John LEWIS Sr.)
Children (LEWIS) of John1 and his first wife, Sarah (MEAD):
i SARAH1 bp. Tenterden 3 March 1632/3.
ii SARAH (again) b. prob. Scituate, Mass., bp. Boston 5 11m [Jan.] 1650[/1] (Boston 1st Ch. Recs., 39:320) (unless she is the same as the child above, bp. in England 18 years earlier).
Children (LEWIS) of John and his second wife, Alice (MATTOCK)(BISHOP), all b. Boston (Boston Rec. Comm. Rep., 9:79, 84, 92, 100):
iii SAMUEL b. 18 Jan. 1661.
iv JOSEPH b. 4 Feb. 1662.
v BENONI b. 25 Jan. 1664[/5], bp. 29 11m [Jan.] 1664[/5] (Boston 1st Ch. Recs., 39:341); not named in grandmother’s will.
vi NATHANIEL b. 5 July 1666, bp. 8 5 m [July] 1666 (Boston 1st Ch. Recs., 39:343); not named in grandmother’s will.
I wish to thank Eleanor RUE for the information that started this inquiry and Neil D. THOMPSON, FASG, for his assistance on the research.
Mr. Wakefield is well known for his articles on Plymouth Colony families. His address is 1221 Windsor Way, Redwood City CA 94061.
Source: Clarence Almon Torrey, New England Marriages Prior to 1700 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing
Company, 1987). [WorldCat]
For each of the 37,000 couples herein covered, the husband’s full name (roughly alphabetical, with variant spellings grouped under the most common) is followed sometimes by a superscript to indicate generation (usually first or second), then by birth and death years, if known, in parenthese. “(1654-)” indicates a birth in 1654 and an unknown death year; “(-1700)” indicates an unknown birth year and a death in 1700. “Ca” for “circa” means “about” and “ae 35 in 1674″ indicates aged 35 in 1674, a fact recorded probably in a court deposition. After an ampersand, “&”, the wife’s full name is given, with any known birth or death years likewise in parenthesis. “1/wf” or “2/wf” indicates first or second wife, any surname in parenthesis is a maiden name (in general, if there are two surnames, one or both in parenthesis, the first is a maiden surname, the second that of a first husband; if there are three surnames, however the parentheses are placed, the last two are those of previous husbands in chronological order), a blank line (within or outside parenthesis) indicates that the wife’s maiden name is unknown, a surname in brackets is one not derived from a marriage record, “w Daniel” indicates “widow of Daniel,” whose last name is given earlier, and “m/2″ or “m/3″, followed by a man’s full name and often a year, indicates a second or third marriage. After the data on husband and wife is a semi-colon, then a date. If the date is exact — 25 Nov. 1674 — it is a marriage (or marriage intention) date; if it is a year only, preceded “b”, it is the birth date of a first child, not the birthdate of either partner, and the marriage can be assumed to have taken place a year or more earlier. Often these “first child” birthdates are approximate. Following this date is a list of residences, from marriage through usually the death of the husband, in chronological order. Question marks alongside any data indicate doubt, of course; “+” after a date means “following”, “-” means “Before”, and stray kinships that might provide clues to origins are sometimes noted as well. Since marriages of men with the same name are also roughly chronological, and each marriage is listed separately, data on a man’s second marriage (including residence only after it) often does not immediately follow the listing for his first.
ALLERTON, Isaac2 [(1630-1702 Virginia)] & 2/wf Elizabeth [WILLOUGHBY]/COLCLOUGH; 1663
AMBROSS, William & Elizabeth MATTOCK; 6 Jan 1697; Boston
BANKS, John & Mehitable MATTOX m/2 Thomas WEBBER; 29 Aug 1694; Boston
BISHOP, Nathaniel (-1687) & Alice ? (not Alice MATTOCKS)(-1674+) b 1634; Boston
BISHOP, Nathaniel & Alice [MATTOCKS?], m/2 John LEWIS 1659, m/3 Abraham HOWE by 1680, m/4 John HARRIS aft 1683; b 1634 (no)
BLAKE, William (1594-1663) & Agnes (?THORNE) BAND/BOND? (-1678), wid; Pitminster, Eng, 27 Sep, 23 Sep 1617; Dorchester
BROWN, Samuel & Mary MATTOCKE, m/2 Thomas BISHOP?; 9 Jul 1661; Boston
CANFIELD, Samuel (1645-1690) & Sarah [WILLOUGHBY] (living 1677), left widow Elizabeth; ca 1668; Norwalk, CT
CANFIELD, Samuel & Elizabeth [MERWIN?/WILLOUGHBY?] (see above); ? ; Norwalk, CT
FAIRBANKS, Richard & Elizabeth (DAULTON); Boston, Eng, b 1636, b 1633, 17 Sep 1618; Boston, ?dau Lydia m/1 Edward BATES, m/2 William FLETCHER
GILBERT, John (-1657) & 3/wf 2/wf Winifred (ROSSITER) COMBE (-1663+); in Eng b 1619; Dorchester/Taunton
GILBERT, Thomas (-1676, 1677) & Jane (COMBE) ROSSITER (-1691), Taunton, ?w Hugh?; 23 Mar 1639, 1639/40 (no); Taunton
GILBERT, Thomas2 (?1620-1662) & Catherine (CHAPIN) BLISS (1626-1712), w Nathaniel, m/3 Samuel MARSHFIELD 1664; 31 Jun 1655, 30 Jun 1655, ?31 Jul; Springfield
GILBERT, Thomas (1643-1725, ae 82y), ?Boston & Anna BLAKEY/BLACKE of Milton (1653-1722); 18 Dec 1676; Taunton
HAMMOND, Lawrence (-1699) & 3/wf Margaret WILLOUGHBY (-1683), w Francis; 8 Feb 1674/5; Charlestown
HART, Nicholas (-1645±) & Jane/Joan [ROSSITER] (1616, ?1615-1685±, 1691); b 1635?; Taunton/Warwick, RI/Portsmouth, RI/ Plymouth
LEONARD, Isaac (ca 1650-ca 1717) & Deliverance ? ; b 1680; Bridgewater
LEONARD, Solomon (?1610-1686) & Mary (CHANDLER) (-bef 1 May 1671); b 1640, b 1643?; Duxbury/Bridgewater
LEONARD, Solomon2 & Mary ? ; b 1680; Bridgewater
LEWIS, John & Alice [MATTOCKS? no?] BISHOP, m/2 Abraham HOWE bef 1680, m/3 John HARRIS (1683+); 22 Nov 1659; Boston
LYNDE, Nathaniel (1659-1729) & 1/wf Susanna WILLOUGHBY (1664-1710); b 1683; Charlestown/ Saybrook, CT
MARCH, George & Mary FOULSOM/FOLSOM, m/2 Joseph HERRICK; 12 Jun 1672; Newbury
MARCH, Hugh1 (-1693) & 1/wf Judith ? (-1675); b 1646; Newbury
MARCH, Hugh1 (-1693) & 2/wf Dorcas (BOWMAN) BLACKLEACH (-1683), w Benjamin; 29 May 1676; Newbury/Watertown
MARCH, Hugh (1656-) & Sarah MOODY (1663-); 29 Mar 1683; Newbury
MARCH, Hugh1 (-1693) & 3/wf Sarah (CUTTING)(BROWN) HEALY (-1699), w James, w William; 3 Dec 1685; Newbury
MARCH, Hugh (1673-1695) & Sarah [COKER], m/2 Archaleus ADAMS 1698; b 1694; Newbury
MARCH, James (-1721) & Mary [WALKER] (1699-), dau Shubael, m/2 John EMERY; b 1690; Newbury
MARCH, John1 (-1666) & 1/wf Rebecca ? ; b 1638; Charlestown
MARCH, John (-1666) & Anna [?BICKNER]; b 1666; Charlestown
MARCH, John & Jemima TRUE; 1 Oct 1679; Newbury
MARCH, John & Mary ANGIER; 11 Dec 1700; Newbury/Reading
MARCH, Nicholas & Martha ? , m/2 William DADEY? 1670; b 1657; Charlestown
MARCH, Stephen & Anna WILBORN; 26 Jan 1691/2; Taunton
MARCH/MARSH, Theophilus (-1694) & Elizabeth HUNT; 10 Jan 1664/5, 3 Feb 1664/5, 3 Feb 1664; Cambridge/Charlestown
MARCH, ? & ? FIELD; b 1701?; Flushing, LI
MATTOCK, David (-1654) & Sarah ? , m/2 Thomas RAWLINS 1656; Braintree/Roxbury
MADOCKS, Edmund & Rebecca MUNINGS/MUNNINGS; 14 Jan 1651/2; Boston
MADDOCK, Henry & Mary WELLINGTON (1640-), m/2 John COOLIDGE 1679; 21 May 1662; Watertown
MATTOCK/MADDOCK, Henry & Rachel ? ; b. 1673; Saco, ME/Boston
MATTOX, Henry & Diana SOUTHER; 3 Mar 1698; Boston
MATTOCKS, James (-1667) & Mary [SPOORE?]; b 1637; Boston
MADDOCKS, John (-1703) & Ruth CHURCH, m/2 Joseph CHILD, m/3 Thomas INGERSOLL 1720; 23 Jun 1689; Watertown
MATTOCK, John (1669-) & Elizabeth ? ; b. 1701?; Boston
MATTOCKE, Richard & Grace TOD (1650-); 2 Mar 1668/9; New Haven
MATTOCKE, Samuel & Constance FAIRBANKS; 30 Mar 1653; Boston
MATTOCKS, Samuel (1659-) & Anna/Ann?/Anne MARCH; 12 Apr 1688; Charlestown/Boston
MERIAM, George1 (ca 1603-1675) & Susan/Susanna RAVEN (-1675+); Tunbridge, Eng, 16 Oct 1627; Concord
PHILLIPS, William (-1705, ae 35?) & Hannah (GILBERT) (1677-1705); b 1699, b 1697?; Taunton
PRATT, Ebenezer & Martha ? ; ca 1700; Weymouth
PRATT, Ephriam (1675±1748) & Phebe ? (-1736); b 1698, (ca 1695?); Weymouth
PRATT, Joseph (1639-1720) & Sarah JUDKINS (1645-1726); 7 May 1662; Weymouth
PRATT, Joseph (1665-1765) & Sarah (BENSON) (-bef 1721); b 1693, ca 1690?; Weymouth
PRATT, John (-1647?) & Mary? (WHITMAN?) dau John, m/2 William TURNER bef 1671; b 1630; Dorchester
PRATT, John (ca 1622-1716) & Elizabeth WHITMAN (-1716, ae 82); 22 Nov 1656, 9? Oct, 27 Nov, no ch; Weymouth
PRATT, John (1668-) & Mercy (NEWCOMB) (1665-1721); b 1690; Weymouth
PRATT, John (1663-1744) & 1/wf Mary (NEWCOMB?); b 1686; Weymouth
PRATT, Matthew (1628-) & Sarah HUNT (1640-1729); 1 Aug 1661; Weymouth
PRATT, Matthew & Susanna PORTER/Mary ? (1665-1761); b 1691; Weymouth/Abington
PRATT, Matthew (-1673?) & Elizabeth [BATES?] in Eng b 1628, b 1622, 1619?; Weymouth/Rehoboth
PRATT, Phineas/Phinehas? (1590/93-1680, ae 90?, ae 81 in 1674) & Mary (PRIEST) GOBERTSON/CUTHBERTSON (-1682+, 1689?); ca 1627/33; Plymouth/Charlestown
PRATT, Samuel (1670-1728) & Patience (CHARLES) (1675-1735); b 1695; Weymouth/Taunton
PRATT, Samuel (-1679) & Hannah RODGERS/ROGERS (-1721, ae 77), m/2 Thomas BAILEY b 1687; 19 Sep 1660, 19 Jul; Weymouth
PRATT, Samuel (1670-1745±) & (Hannah?)(MILLER); b 1697; Middleborough
PRATT, Thomas (ca 1626-1676) & 1/wf Mary ? ; b 1653, b 1659; Weymouth
PRATT, Thomas & Deborah LOVELL (1664/5-1727); ca 1690; Weymouth
PRATT, Thomas & Lydia (?BROWN), m/2 Josiah CHAPIN 1676; ca 1665, b 1676; Weymouth
PRATT, Thomas (-1676) & Lydia (BROWN?) (1658?-) of Ipswich, m/2 Josiah CHAPIN 1676; ca 1665; Weymouth
PRATT, Thomas (1646-) & ? (had Mary 19 Apr 1680, Thomas 9 Dec 1682, Hannah 19 Jul 1685); b 1680; Concord (see Thomas & Alice)
PRATT, Thomas (1646-1720) & Alice ? ; b 1669; Charlestown/Chelsea
PRATT, William & Hannah ? ; ca 1700; Weymouth
PRATT, William (1674-) & Hannah HOUGH; 8? Oct 1700; Saybrook, CT
PRATT, William (1659-1713) & Elizabeth (BAKER)/(SWIFT?) (1656-); 26 Oct 1680; Dorchester
PRATT, William (ca 1620-) & Experience (KING); b 1692; Weymouth/Dorchester
RAWLINS, Thomas1 (-1660) & 3/wf Sarah MADOCKS/MATTOCKS (-1660+) w David; 2 May 1656; Boston
ROSSITER, Hugh & (?Jane) ? (1614-1691), m/2 Thomas GILBERT 1639; Dorchester
ROSSITER, Edward (?1585-1630) & ? ; b 1615; Dorchester
WILLOUGHBY, Francis (?1613-1671) & 1/wf Mary ? (-1640); in Eng, b 1639, b 1635; Charlestown
WILLOUGHBY, Francis (?1613-1671) & 2/wf Sarah [TAYLOR] (-1654); 1640?, in Eng; Charlestown
WILLOUGHBY, Francis (?1613-1671) & 3/wf Margaret (LOCKE) TAYLOR, w Daniel, m Lawrence HAMMOND 1675; ca 1658-9, in Eng; Charlestown
WILLOUGHBY, Jonathan (ca 1635-) & Griszel GOLDESBOROUGH; in Eng, – Dec 1661, lic 3 Dec 1661; Charlestown/Wethersfield, CT
WILLOUGHBY, Nehemiah (1644-1702) & Abigail BARTHOLOMEW (1650-1702); 2 Jan 1671/2, 2 Jan 1671; Charlestown/Salem
WILLOUGHBY, William (1588-1651, in Eng) & Elizabeth ? (-1662, Charlestown); in Eng, b 1613; Charlestown
WILLOUGHBY, William & Abigail ? ; Greenland, NH
Source: James Savage, A Genealogical Dictionary of the First Settlers of New England, Volume 3, K-R (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1965), page 177.
MATTOCKS. DAVID, Braintree, freem. 1650, had w. Sarah, and d. Eliz. wh. was decrepid, one s. and d. at Roxbury bef. 14 May 1654, when his inv. was dated, and his d. d. 4 July 1655. The wid. m. 2 May 1656, Thomas RAWLINS of Boston. JAMES, Boston, a cooper, came from Bristol, perhaps bef 1635 (at least his d. Alice was then w. of Nathaniel BISHOP), join the ch. in Feb. 1639, and was made freem 13 Mar. Perhaps all his ch. were b. Eng. In his will, made 21 Jan. 1667, wh. is on the latest page in Vol. I of Suff’k Reg. he names s. Samuel and ds. Alice, w. of John LEWIS, wh. had been wid. of Nathaniel BISHOP, and Mary, w. of Samuel BROWN, m. 9 July 1661. RICHARD, New Haven, m. 1669, Grace TODD, but it is not certain that he was resid. long. He had desert. his w. before 1686, when her f. d. SAMUEL, Boston, s. of James, m. 30 Mar. 1653, Constance d. of Richard FAIRBANKS, had Samuel, b. 15 Oct. 1659; James, 27 Oct. 1662; Constance, 10 Sept. 1669; Eliz., 18 Aug 1670; Mehitable, 7 Nov. 1672; and Mary, 13 Nov. 1673. MADDOX is very easily confound. with this name, as well as MADDOCK, and I dare not, in some cases, disting.
Source: Charles Henry Pope, The Pioneers of Massachusetts: A Descriptive List, Drawn from Records of the Colonies, Towns and Churches, and Other Contemporaneous Documents (Boston: Charles H. Pope, 1900).
BISHOP, BISHOPP, BUSHOP, BYSHOP,
Nathaniel, currier, Ipswich, propr. 1636-1639; rem. to Boston. Sold Ips. land 25 May, 1643; adm. chh. 24 (12) 1643; frm. May, 1645. He deposed to the will of Mary Drury 28 Nov. 1682, ae. 75 years. Wife Alice: Ch. Sarah b. (rec. at Boston) 20 (1) 1634, (m. 18 (7) 1654 Samuel Bucknell,) Ruth b. 14 (2) 1639, (m. 15 (2) 1656, John Peirce,) Joseph b. 14 (5) 1642, Benjamin b. 31 (3) 1644, (bapt. at Bo.,) John b. 31 (11) 1646, Samuel d. 7 (1) 1646, Hannah b. 11 (12) 1648, John bapt. 26 (11) 1650, Rebecca b. 8 (2) 1652. The widow Alice m. 22 Nov. 1659, John Lewis.
He made will 10 June, 1681, prob. 4 June, 1687, before Andros. Dau. Ruth, (wife of William Fuller, of Boston, victualler,) and her children, Ruth, wife of Philip Catland, Hannah, wife of William Smith, and Rebecca Pierce; dau. Rebecca, wife of Adam Holland.
John, mariner, Salem, propr. and member. chh. 1637; frm. May 2, 1638. Chosen ruling elder 1660. Wrecked on return from Virginia; lost vessel and goods, but arrived at Sal. in 1661. Had new ship built by William Stephens. Ales (Alice) presumed to be his wife, memb. chh. in 1637. Ch. Jonathan, (d. 1667; est. adm. by his father;) John bapt. 16 (7) 1638, Jacob and Samuel bapt. 13 (1) 1641, John bapt. 1 (3) 1642, James bapt. 17 (5) 1642, Joanna bapt. 9 (2) 1643, Eliza bapt. 23 (10) 1643, Eliza bapt. 14 (2) 1644, Nathaniel bapt. 28 (5) 1644.
His will dated 2 Jan. 1683, prob. 24 Nov. 1684, beq. to gr. ch. John and Abiel B.; to 4 ch. of his dec. son
James B.; to son-in-law Samuel Gardner, Jr. and his wife.
COLE, COLES, COAL, COOLE, COOLE,
Rice, or Ryse, Charlestown, memb. Boston chh. 1630; frm.. April 1, 1633, propr. Char. 1634. Wife Arrold; ch. Robert, (d. about 1660,) John, James, Mary, (m. Richard LOWDEN,) Elizabeth (m. Thomas PIERCE).
He d. 15 (3) 1646. Will dated (3) 1646, prob. April 1, 1662. To wife, sons Robert, John and James, and 2 daus. Richard LOWDEN and Thomas PIERCE of Woburn, who m. the daus. asked for a division of the estate, the eldest and youngest sons having d. without heirs, leaving only one son. The widow, Arrold, wrote from Charlestown Aug. 28, 1655, to her son and dau. JENKS and dau. Ruth COLES, giving love of “your bro. John COLE and bros. and sisters PEIRCE and LOWDEN.” She wrote 16 (10) 1661 to dau. Ruth MOOD, referring to Ruth̓s former husband. Henry MUDD of Stepney, Eng., mariner, and Ruth his wife, gave power of attorney to John SMITH of Charlestown 16 (–) 1661. [Mdx. Files.] Her will dated 20 (10) prob. 26 (10) 1662, beq. to son John C., sons LOWDEN and PERCE and their ch.; bro. Solomon PHIPPS.
William, butcher, Charlestown, 1630, adm. Boston chh. 1631-2, frm. April 1, 1633. Was one of the attorneys of Mrs. Palsgrave before March 17, 1656. Wife Dorothy, adm. chh. 31 (6) 1633; she d. March 8 1670-1. Ch. William, Benjamin bapt. 24 (1) 1635, Nathaniel bapt. 22 (11) 1636, Zachariah b. 16 (3) 1644, Abigail.
He d. April 10, 1682, ae. 77. [Gr. St.] Will dated 3 Feb. 1681, prob. June 20, 1682, beq. to wife Martha and to her ch. by former husband; to son William and dau. Abigail.
FAIRBANK, FAIRBANCK, FAIRBANKS, FAIRBANCKE,
Jonathan, Dedham, propr. 23 (1) 1636-7, adm. chh. 14 (6) 1646. Town officer. Wife Grace; ch. John, George, Jonas, Jonathan; Mary adm. chh. 11 (10) 1640, (m. 1, Michael Metcalf, 2, Christopher Smith,) Susan, (m. 12 (8) 1647, Ralph Day).
He d. 5 Dec. 1668; his will prob. Jan. 26, folg., mentions all the above-named and some of their children. The widow d. 28 (10) 1673. [Reg. XIX, 32.] See will of George Fairbanke of Sowerby in Halifax, Eng., dated May 28, 1650. [Reg. VII, 303.] Genealogy.
Richard, Boston, adm chh. (8) 1633, frm. May 14, 1634. He had leave to sell his shop to Saunders, a bookbinder, 7 (6) 1637. He was appointed by Gen. Court 5 (9) 1639, to have charge of all letters to and from Eng., voluntarily brought to his house. He made exchange of land 1 (2) 1652. Wife Elizabeth adm. chh. with him; ch. Constance bapt. 10 (11) 1635, (m. 30 (1) 1653, Samuel Mattocke,) Zaccheus bapt. 8 (10) 1639, d. 10 (9) 1653.
John, Dorchester, a grave, honest gentleman; his son was arrested for drunkenness in 1636. [W.] He rem. to Taunton; frm. Plym. Col. 4 Dec. 1638. Propr., town officer.
Will dated May 31, 1654, prob. June 3, 1657; to wife Winifred, ch: Gyles, Joseph, Thomas, John, Mary Norcrosse, and her dau. Mary; to wife’s gr. ch. Elizabeth Peslee. [Reg. V, 338.]
HART, HEART, compare with HARDY,
Nicholas, Taunton, atba. 1643. [see ROSSITER.]
John, of Tenterden, Eng., with wife Sarah, came in the Hercules in March, 1634. Settled at Scituate. Frm. Plym. Col. 7 Feb. 1636-7. Butcher, rem. to Boston, 1652; ch. Sarah bapt. at Bo. 5 (11) 1650. Wife Sarah d. 12 (5) 1657; he m. 22 Nov. 1659 Alice, widow of Nathaniel Bishop, who joined him in a deed of land 24 Aug. 1659. Ch. Samuel b. Jan. 18, 1661, Joseph b. Feb. 4, 1662, Benoni b. 25 (11) 1664.
MADDOX, see MATTOCKS,
John, sawyer, cert. from Stepney parish, Eng., came in the Planter March 22, 1634. Settled at Salem.
He d. April 22, 1643. Will prob. 6 (5) 1644, referred to in Court files.
MARCH, see MARSH and MEECH,
John, Charlestown, adm. chh. 15 (3) 1642; frm. May 18, 1642. Town officer. [Wife?] Rebeckah adm. chh. 29 (3) 1642. His son Edward d. 4 (8) 1636; son John d. 2 (3) 1641. Will prob. 17 (11) 1665, beq. to wife Ann the est. she brought at marriage; dau. Frances Bucke and her ch.; son Theophilus M. and his son John; wife’s gr. ch. Sarah Bickner.
MATTOCKS, MATTOCKE, MATTOX, see MADDOX,
David, Roxbury, frm. May 22, 1650.
He d. about (3) 1654. The magistrates gave the est. to his widow Sarah, a son and a decrepit dau. May 25, 1654 [Reg. VIII, 276.] The widow m. 2, Thomas Rawlin, Sen. His dau. Elizabeth b. and d. 1655.
James, cooper, Boston, had liberty to live with his bro. John Spoore or elsewhere 18 (4) 1638; adm. chh. 24 (12) 1638, frm. March 13, 1638-9. Dism. to chh. at Mt. Wollaston for ye winter season 24 (9) 1639. Bought a house lot of Anthony Stoddard 28 (10) 1644, and sold it to John Synderland Dec. 30, 1644. Bought house and land April 25, 1653, and gave it to his son Samuel who was about to marry Constance, dau. of Richard Fairbanks. Dau. Mary m. 9 July, 1661 Samuel Browne.
Will, dated Jan. 21, 1666, prob. Aug. 1, 1667. Wife Mary, son Samuel Mattock, daus. Alice, wife of John Lewes, and Mary, wife of Samuel Browne. [Reg. XV, 325.] The widow Mary, aged, made will 8 Jan. 1680, prob. 11 April, 1682; beq. to son Samuel, and his ch. James and Samuel; dau. Alice How; gr. ch. Samuel and Joseph Lewis; dau. Mary Bishop; gr. ch. James, Mary and Samuel Browne and Hannah Byshop.
John, Salem, worked with Robert Lewis on the ship Sara for Richard Hollingsworth, shipbuilder, who gave them an order for the money 19 Aug. 1641.
He d. April 22, 1643; inv. 6 (5) 1644.
Stephen, sent over by Mr. Peter and Mr. Weld in 1643, a servant, assigned to Elder How of Watertown, lived with Nathaniel Treadway of Wat. 5 (2) 1653. [Mdx. Files.]
Mr. Richard, physician, Charlestown, propr. 1630; with wife Anne adm. chh. 1631, frm. May 18, 1631. Ch. John, (who quit-claimed land in 1657,) Mary, (m. Roger Willington,) Sarah, (m. Dr. John Alcock; d. 29 (9) 1665, ae 44 years,) Rebecca b. 25 (5) 1631, John b. 6 (1) 1634, Lydia b. 15 (11) 1635, Bethiah b. and d. 1638, Elizabeth.
He d. about 1655. His widow, dwelling at Stepney, Eng., made a letter of attorney March 17, 1656. [Midx. De. II, 32.] She ret. to N. E. and d. at Roxbury 17 (11) 1669, ae. 75. Will prob. May 13, 1669. Beq. to eldest dau., Mary, wife of Roger Willington; to Anna and other children of her son and dau. Alcock; to John Heylet, eldest son of her dau. Lydia, he to be educated in physick; to Mary, wife of John Maddox; to grandchildren. A debt due to John Pattison in old England.
Thomas, Charlestown; wife Elizabeth adm. chh. 10 (11) and he adm. chh. 21 (12) 1634. Frm. May 6, 1635. He rem. to Woburn; propr. 1643; town officer. Signed a petition in 1663, ae. about 46 years old, [Mass. Arch. vol. 106.] Wife Elizabeth was ae. 71 in 1667. Ch. Abigail bapt. 17 (4) 1639, a son John b. at Wob. 7 (1) 1643, Thomas b. Jan. 21, 1644, Elizabeth b. Dec. 25, 1646, Joseph b. Aug. 14, 1649, Stephen b. July 16, 1651, Samuel b. 1654, d. 1655, Samuel b. April 7, 1656, William b. March 7, 1656-7, James b. May 7, 1659, Abigail b. Nov. 20, 1660.
He d. Oct. 7, 1666. Will dated Nov. 7, 1665, ae. about 82 years; beq. to wife Elizabeth; gr. ch. Mary BRIDGE and Elizabeth JEFFS, now dwelling with me; to all gr. ch.; to Harvard College. The widow deposed to the inv. March 22, 1666-7, ae. 71 years.
Bray, [Brian?] gent., physician. Dorchester, came in the Mary and John in 1629-30. Propr. Sold land to Wm. Hutchinson. [L.] Rem. to Windsor, Conn., where he witnessed a deed Sept. 12, 1647. [Suff. De. I, 98.] Rem. to Guilford, Conn. [Mass. Hist. Coll. 3-10.]
Mr. Edward, one of the Assistants, came to N. E. in 1630.
He d. before Nov. 29, 1630. [W.] His dau., widow Jane Hart, petitioned Gen. Court for aid in 1685, being 70 years old. [Reg. XXXIII, 242.]
Jane, Taunton, m. 23 March 1639-40, Thomas Gilbert.
SPUR, SPURR, SPOOER,
John, husbandman, late of Clapton in Somersetshire, with his bro. John Mattocke, cooper, had grant of land in Boston, 1638. Frm. May 22, 1638-9. Wife Elizabeth adm. chh. with him 14 (2) 1639; ch. Mary b. 20 (1) 1637, Mary bapt. 21 (2) 1639, Ebenezer b. 3 (3) 1642, Elizabeth bapt. 30 (1) 1645, ae. about 6 days, Martha b. and d.1648, John b. 16 (4) 1650.
WELLINGTON, WILLINGTON, see WALLINGTON,
Roger, planter, Watertown, 1636. Suit in court in 1651. He deposed Dec. 1673, ae. about 64 years. [Mdx. Files.] He m. Mary, dau. of Dr. Richard Palsgrave; ch. John b. 25 (5) 1638, Mary b. 10 (12) 1640, Joseph b. 9 (8) 1643, Benjamin, Oliver b. Nov. 23, 1648, Palsgrave.
He d. March 11, 1697-8. Will dated 17 Dec. 1697, prob. April 11, 1698; “feeble by reason of age;” beq. to sons John, Joseph, Benjamin, Oliver and Palsgrave; gr. ch. John Mattocks, Roger W., and Mary Livermore.
Mr. Francis, merchant, Charlestown, adm. propr. 1638; adm. chh. with wife Mary 3(10)1639, frm. May 13, 1640. Gave bond in trade concerning tobacco in 1640. [L.] Deputy in 1642 and afterward. Town officer, 1646. Magistrate.
He rendered important service to the colonies as a member of Parliament from Portsmouth, Eng. in 1647, and again in 1657-8. He ret. to Charlestown from his second absence about 1662. The Court gave him 1000 acres of land in token of his services 15 Oct. 1669.
His wife Mary died, and he m. 2, in Eng. Mrs. Margaret Taylor, dau of William Locke and widow of Mr. Daniel Taylor; she was adm. chh. Char. 13(8)1667; ch. Sarah bapt. 13(4)1641, Hannah b. and d. 1643, Nehemiah b. 18(4)1644, Jeremiah b. 29(5)1647, Francis bapt. at St. Olaves in London 29 Feb. 1659-60, Susanna, dau. of the Worshipful Francis Willoughby bapt. at Char. 21(6)1664. The two last ch. had bequests from their mother’s sister Jane Locke, in 1669. [L., A., Reg. XXX, XXXV, and XL.]
His will dated 4 June, 1670, prob. April 10, 1671; refers to his mother’s payment of legacies from his father to his children; beq. to eldest son Jonathan and each of his children; to his wife the estate to which she shall testify to having brought at her marriage and a share of his other property; to sons Nehemiah, William and Francis, and dau. Susannah; to dau. Campfield, who had previously recd. her portion; to aunt Hammond if alive, and to cousin Laur. H.; to his pastor and teacher; to cousin March during her widowhood free use of the house where she dwells; to the school in Charleston 300 acres of land given him by the town but never laid out, lying beyond Woburn; to Laur. Dowse and Edward Wilson, and to his man, Richard Waldron.
Source: Thomas Bellows Wyman, Genealogies and Estates of Charlestown, in the County of Middlesex and
Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1629-1818 (Bowie, Maryland: Heritage Books, 1991).
DADEY WILLIAM 1. Butcher; inhabitant 1630; original member of church in the early list; No. 122 in the Chas. list; m. DOROTHY …., who was adm. church 31 (6) 1633, and d. March 8, 1670-1. W. D., æ. 74, testified before the legislature, Aug. 11, 1679, that he aided in building the battery with bricks and sods (per Archives 69:255); d. April 10, 1682, æ 77, g. s. Issue. — i. WILLIAM. ii. Benjamin, bapt. 24 (1) 1635-6. iii. NATHANIEL, bapt. 22 (11) 1636-7. iv. Zechariah, b. 16 (3) 1644; m. Maria WOODWORTH of Scituate; in Philip’s War, and d. 1730.
ESTATE. — To have house lot next Brackenbury, 1635. Had 10 acre lot No. 20, Mystic side (1637).
POSSESSIONS, 8 lots: (1) House and ½ rood E of Mill hill — E, Back st. or Wapping dock; W, street; N, T. COITMORE; S, G. HEPBURN. (2) 2 acres Eastfield — N, Mystic river; S, swamp towards R. COLE; E, Ralph SPRAGUE; W, Walter PALMER. (3) 2 acres Eastfield — S W, Back st; N E, D. SHEPHERDSON; S E, E. HUBBARD; N W, E. CONVERS. (4) 2 cow commons. (5) ½ acre meadow — W, North river; S, G. FELCH; N, Thomas SQUIRE. (6) 5 acres woods No. 20 — S E, South river; N W, John GREENE; S W, R. COLE; N E, G. HEPBURNE. (7) 5 acres woods, No. 51, 100 poles long — N E, E. JOHNSON; S W, John HARVARD; N W J. WOOLRICH; N E, R. KETTLE. (8) 35 acres Waterfield, No. 51. 100 poles long — N W, E. JOHNSON; S E, Anne HIGGINSON, B. HUBARD; S W, John PALMER; N E, John LEWIS.
W.D. had liberty to buy of G. JAMES, 1639. Of T. ALLEN, lots, 1651. Of R. TRERICE, £33, 2 hay-lots at Mystic side, bd. on river, upland, T. ALLEN, G. HUTCHINSON, 1651, rec. 1659-60. Entered S commons, 1656-7. Of T. ALLEN, power, 1657. To B. SWEETSER, 15½ acres: 1st part — S E, S. SWEETSER; W, N. RAND; W, R. LOWDEN; N, R. STOWERS; E, J. SCOTT and Salt River; other part — N E, James BARRETT; S W, P. TUFTS; N W, S. SPRAGUE, late J. CUTLER; N, J. BARRETT; 1676. Of John COLE, mort. house, 1662-3. Of Mary FOUNELL, 1-8 mills, 1676. Of T. ALLEN, power, 1676-7. He was decreed to build 9¼ poles fence, 1677. Ref. R. ARRINGTON, W. BACHELOR, R. KETTLE, John NEWELL, W. STILSON. Grant, 7 commons, 1681. Drew lot 37, 10 acres, 1681.
WILLIAM 2. Son of William 1; m. MARTHA MARCH, June 29, 1670, who d. Jan. 13, 1708-9, æ 76, g. s. W. D. and wife with others, petitioned legislature in behalf of son in captivity, Feb. 4, 1679-80. Mrs. D. petitioned, May 24, 1680 (Archives 61:219). Issue. — i. WILLIAM, b. April 10 (16) 1671. ii. ABIGAIL, Oct. 31, bapt. 3 (9) 1672; lived in Joseph LYNDE’s house, bo’t of B. PEMBERTON; supplied by town, 1727-8 and 1730, and d. at Mr. KENT’s (per General Record), Jan. 13, 1749.
ESTATE. — W.D. and w. Martha to Joses BUCKNAM, 7 acres marsh, 1679. To John GEORGE, land on Back st. 26, rear on W.D. 21, 43 ft. deep — N & N E, W.D.; S E John JONES and P. TUFTS Sen., 1679-80. To Thomas LORD, 1 cow common between Menotomy river, Medford farms and Mr. LIDGETT; 1681.
WILL Feb. 3, 1681-2, pro. June 20, 1682, devised: (1) To son, house and 2 acres between Z. JOHNSON and John CUTLER Jr.; 1 acre bo’t of SHEPHERDSON; salt marsh by G. BLANCHARD; 5 commons; ½ of 1-8 of mill; ½ wood-lots. (2) To Abigail, little house John MELVIN lives in, with ground to John GEORGE’s; ½ of 1-8 mill; 2 commons; ½ wood-lot. (3) To wife’s chn. by former husband household goods. (4) To wife, 1½ acres bo’t of T. CARTER and S. KETTELL; lot in new division commons.
INVENTORY: 2 houses; 1 acre on hill; 2 acres in field; 7 acres by BLANCHARD; 1½ acres in field; 7 commons; 1-8 mill; 2 wood-lots; 1-32 of sea adventure; not footed.
WIDOW MARTHA to J. and S. KETTELL, 1½ acres — N E, R. LOWDEN;S E, T. CARTER; S W, J. PENTECOST; N W, KETTELL’s; 1683. With D. EDMANDS, agreement to divide land betwixt houses; 1684. Grant 24½ acres — N W range; N E, J. PENTECOST; E S, P. FROTHINGHAM, Solomon PHIPPS; S W, R. LEACH; 1685. To P. TUFTS, 3 commons E side Menotomy river, not bd.; 1685. To P.T., for purpose of rebuilding an old mill, property of the chn., sells of theirs, 3 acres — W, W.D.; N, S. BLANCHARD Sen.; E, John CALL; S, Mystic river; 1687, rec. 1694. To P.T., 2 acres, being 68 poles long, 4 poles 10 ft. wide; W, 3-acre lot, else as above; 1687, rec. 1694. To P.T., 4 cow commons (2 acres); 1691, rec. 1694-5. To E. BATEMAN, 22 acres, 1699. To W. JAMISON and Samuel PHIPPS, 1-8 mills, 1700-1. Ref. John NEWELL, J. PUTNAM. Son and dau. join in last four deeds.
ABIGAIL (dau.) joins deeds with mother &c. A.B. to John CALL et al., 4 or 5 ft. 1696, rec. 1707. To O. ATWOOD, wood-lot, 1714. To John SPRAGUE, share of house occ. by A.D.; N W, W.D. 129; S E, Deacon S. DOWSE, widow D. DOWSE, 129; S W, Fore st. 28; N E, J. CALL; six ft. abuts on W.D., 1721.
WILLIAM 3. Son of William 2; in captivity with the Turks, 1680; m. SARAH BRACKETT, Jan. 28, 1694, at Bristol (per certificate in files of inferior court). “Return WAITE’s wife and Samuel MATTUCK’s wife [half] sisters of W. D.” 1695 (per court records, Boston). She was adm. church or bapt. at Bristol, May 2, 1697. Issue. — i. WILLIAM, b. Nov. 15, 1695, at B. ii. SARAH, Dec. 6, 1700. Record at Bristol and Chas.
ESTATE. — W.D. and wife Sarah, with Abigail and widow Martha, to BATEMAN, 1699. W.D. of Newport, R.I.,
by attorney Edward WILSON (power Dec. 27, 1700), with same to W. JAMISON, 1700-1. To E. AUSTIN, lot,
1702, rec. 1708.
SARAH (dau.) deeds with bro. William, 1718 &c. See Otis.
WILLIAM 4. Son of William 3; chose his uncle John WALKER of Rhode-Island, tanner, gdn. July 2, 1713; m. RUTH CUTLER  Dec. 8, 1718, who was adm. church, Oct. 11, 1719, and d. of smallpox, March 2, 1721-2; d. in Chas. “middle aged” 1723. Issue. — i. WILLIAM, b. Nov. 9 (bapt. 15) 1719.
NATHANIEL 5. Son of William 1; m. HANNAH MILLER  June 17, 1663, who m. (2) John EDMANDS, 1667, (3) Aaron LUDKIN, 1684; d. April 25, 1665. Issue. — i. Hannah, b. April 4, 1664; d. 5 (2) 1664. ii. Nathaniel, b. 2 (2) bapt. 23 (5) 1665; d. 6 (10) 1666.
ESTATE. — His inventory, house &c. £153, Sept. 20 (sworn to 28) 1665.
ESTATE. — Tax abated 1735.
HAMMOND LAWRENCE 1. Son of …… and Jane (see WILLOUGHBY); adm. inhabitant 25 (5) 1661; adm. church 29 (4) 1662; member of Artillery Co. 1666; kept journal 1677-1694, alluded to in Prince’s Chronology of N.E., and extant with Mass. Hist. Soc.; appointed by the Court, town clerk, Oct. 19, 1686; m. (1) AUDRIA EATON  Sept. 30, 1662, who d. Aug. 27, 1663; (2) ABIGAIL WILLET  May 12, 1665, who was adm. church 13 (8) 1667, and d. Feb. 1, 1673-4, æ. 29 yrs. 4 mo. 14 ds.; (3) MARGARET WILLOUGHBY  8 (12) 1674-5, who d. 2 (12) 1682-3; (4) ANN GEARISH  14 (11) 1684-5; d. July 25, 1699. Issue. — i. Francis, b. Aug. 19 (bapt. 30) 1663; was at widow PEACHIE’s, March 9, 1687-8; shipped in Mr. SHRIMPTON’s barque, with Capt. EVERTON, for Madeira, March 12, 1687-8; fell over-board from the top of a ship at Nantasket, on return voyage, Nov. 24, 1688. ii. Martha, April 6 (8), d. June 7, 1666. iii. Abigail, April 27 (28) 1667; m. (1) Luke GREENOUGH  1689-90. iv. John, May 1 (2) 1669; d. Sept. 3 or 8, 1669. v. Jane, Aug. 10 (14) 1670; d. 25 (10) 1681, æ. 11 yrs. 4 mo. 15 ds., g. s. vi. Elizabeth, July 13 (14) 1672; m. Thomas PIERSON, 1691. vii. Lawrence, Nov. 23, 1685; d. Oct. 1, 1689. viii. Francis, Sept. 13 (15), d. Oct. 2, 1689.
ESTATE. — Was attorney of F. WILLOUGHBY, to sell to G. JAMES, 1662. Of T. PEACHY, house, late of WILLOUGHBY, between Bow st. and Charles river, not bd., and new house on rear — bd. E N & S W, highways; N W &c., late F. W.’s orchard, now L. H.; 1675. L. H. and wife Margaret, mort. to John RICHARDS, treas. of Soc. for Prop’g Gospel among Indians, wharf and house occ. by GERRISH, 1679. To M. SOLEY, same, 1682. Released from above mort. by P. BULKLEY &c., 1683. Drew lot No. 35, common, 8½ acres, 1681. To A. BELCHER, house occ. by GERRISH, 1682. To Peter TUFTS, 8¼ acres — W, highway between ranges; N, Zechariah BRIGDEN; S, driftway; E, C. GOODWIN, John SMITH; 1682. To John HALL, lot in Woburn, 1683. To M. SOLEY, wharf, 10 ft. broad — N, highway; S, river; E, wharf of L. H.; W, A. BELCHER; 1683. To Zechariah LONG, wharf, 32 ft. broad, bd. as before, and release, 1683. To Sarah GILBERT, mort. house, 1683. Of T. BRIGDEN, mort. new house, 1683. To W. JAMISON, house and wharf, now rented by A. LOGAN, and shop rented by Thomas CARTER, cooper — bd. on wharf, S E from shop, cont’g 30 ft. from the bounds of Z. LONG’s shed N E, to corner post of wharf, S W; and so down to l. w. m.; bd. on flats with Z. L.’s line, N E; and LONG’s wharf, late SEDGWICK’s, S W; so down by side of L’s wharf on straight line to l. w. m. Also the land before said house and shop, S W, extending 3 ft. to west of S corner of W. SHEAF’s house, and ending 3 ft. S W from the N E side of corner post of wharf; passage 8 ft. wide from town highway to his land. Also land N E of house and shop — bd. N E, Z. L.; N W, W. S.; S W, L. H., land and wharf; S E, Charles river; released as before; 1683. To W. SHEAF, house S. lives in, and 3 ft. land the whole breadth of house at S W end of the lane behind house — N E, Z. L.; N W, highway; S E, W. J.; land from highway to W. J. is 18 ft. broad; S W, HAMMOND’s wharf; released 1683. To N. CARY, house, released by S. GILBERT, 1684.. To W. SHEAF, wharf, 3 ft. added to former lot, whole breadth of west end of dwelling-house towards Little Dock, 1684. To W. JAMISON, land adj. his land bo’t of L. H. — at bounds of his line, towards N W; thence westward, 3 ft. to Little Dock; then to S E, ending N W side of strip now lying on N E side of the LONG wharf, extended 4 ft. 7 in. from outside of wharf westward on side of strip; N E, land of W. J.; N W, L. H.; S W, L. H.; S E, aforesaid strip; passage-way reserved; 1684. Removed to S end of Mr. TUCK’s house, hired for 7 yrs. at £5, April 3, 1688. Removed to Capt. WING’s house at Boston, July 10, 1692. Let to Seth SWEETSER, stable standing by house hired by Edward JOHNSON; July 12, 1692.
As EXR. of wife MARGARET, he sold to A. BELCHER, wharf, 1693. Her WILL, made Aug. 21, 1680, proved April 12, 1683, devised to dau. Susanna, sister Elizabeth LOCK.
ADMIN. to Humphrey and Joseph PARSON of Boston.
INVENTORY, Nov. 6, 1699: PERSONAL, debts, Jahleel BRENTON of London, James BEVON of Nevis, Edward PARSON of Montserat, Dr. William GERRISH of Montserat, late of Chas., Christian WILLIAMS, Christian HILL, and John DALEY, all of Montserat.
JOHN 2. Watertown; m. (2) SARAH NICHOLS  who d. Jan. 14, 1688-9, æ. 45.
JOHN 3. “HAMEN.” Mar. (1) SARAH HOUGH ; (2) ABIGAIL CALL  at Cape Breton; he then had 1st wife living near Arundel; on way home from the Cape he deserted his wife Abigail and went ashore at Arundel (per State Archives, 1748).
MARCH: MARSH …
NICHOLAS 5. Mar. MARTHA …., who was adm. church March 22, 1668, and m. (2) W. DADEY . Issue. — i. William, mariner; admin. granted to Mrs. DADEY; inventory, Sept. 12, 1695, £24. ii. Elizabeth, m. John GEORGE  1679. iii. Marah, b. Oct. 22, 1666; bapt. 29 (1) 1668; m. Thomas JENNER  1685. iv. Ann, m. S. MATLOCK  1688. v. daughter, m. Return WAIT .
MATTOCKS SAMUEL 1. Boston; m. ANNA MARCH  12 (2) 1688. THOMAS 2. Mar. ABIGAIL FOSDICK  Aug. 27, 1731, in Boston, who own. cov’t Aug. 6, 1732. Issue. — i. Abigail, bapt. Aug. 6, 1732. ii. Mary, bapt. Dec. 23, 1733.
ESTATE.–Taxed 1732, 1733, 1734.