James Mattocke’s Will

Source: William D. Trask, “Abstracts of Early Wills: Abstracts from the Earliest Wills on Record in the
County of Suffolk, Mass.,” New England Historical and Genealogical Register 15[1861]:325.

James Mattocke. — Jan. 21, 1666. I, James Mattock, of Boston, Cooper, being of perfect memory, do make this my last will. Debts to be paid. I Giue to my Sone, Samuel Mattock, 20s; to my dau. Alice, now the wife of John Lewes, 20s; to my dau. Mary, now the wife of Samuell Browne, 20s. I ordain my wife, Mary Mattock, to be my executrix. Inasmuch as my Children respectively have had portions of my estate, if any or either of my Children Do make any Sute, Demand, to the trouble & vexation of my wife, for any part of my estate in land, goods or debts otherwise then according to this my Will, That then either of them so Doing shall clearly loose such legacy by me given, & that my bequeath to him or her shall be clearly void as if the same had never been to him or her given or made. Jan 28, in the yeare above written.

James Mattocke.

In the presence of

Richard Collacott, William Pearse scr.

Wm Pearse deposed, Aug. 1st, ’67. [Recorded, Book I. folio 541.

Inventory of the estate taken 12: 4: 1667, by Thomas Lake, Joseph How. Amt. £277. 15. 05. Mary Mattox [so written on the inventory] deposed Aug. 15, 1667. [Recorded, Book V. folio 48.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

