Home > 006998. John Ward, 013994. George Hubbard, 013996. Richard Ward, 013997. Joyce Trafford > A Digest of the Early Connecticut Probate Records, Hartford District, 1635-1700

A Digest of the Early Connecticut Probate Records, Hartford District, 1635-1700

Source: Charles William Manwaring, A Digest of the Early Connecticut Probate Records, Volume 1, Hartford District, 1635-1700 (Hartford: R.S. Peck and Company, 1904).

[page 1]

COLONIAL RECORDS.

(Volume I.)

[1]

A CORTE HOLDEN ATT NEWTON, 26 APR. 1636.

Roger LUDLOWE, Esqr.,    Mr. WESTWOOD,

Mr. STEELE,        Mr. WARDE.

Mr. PHELPS,

Constables sworne, for Dorchester, Newtowne & Watertowne, for this next yeere and vntill newe be chosen, are Henry WALCOTT for Dorchester, Samuel WAKEMAN for Newtowne & Daniell FINCH for Watertowne.

21 Febr. 1636.

Mr. LUDLOWE,        Mr. PHELPS,

Mr. STEELE,        Mr. WESTWOODE.

Mr. SWAINE,

Whereas, it was ordered yt Samuel WAKEMAN, Geo: HUBBERT, & Anncient STOUGHTON were to consider of the boundes of Dorchester towarde the Falls & of Watertowne towards the mouth of the River; The saide Samuel WAKEMAN & [Geo:] HUBBERD thinkes meete yt the plantacon of Dorchester shall extend towards the Falls, on the same side the Plantacon standes, to a Brooke called Kittle Brooke, & soe over the greate River vppon the same line that Newe Towne & Dorchester doth betweene them.  And soe it is ordered by the Corte.

It is ordered that the plantacon nowe called Newtowne shall be called & named by the name of Harteford Towne, likewise the plantacon now called Watertowne shalbe called & named Wythersfeild …

[page 2]

[2]

Page 5.

Guilford, June 16: 1665

This is to certify unto all whom it may concerne, that vpon his certaine knowledge, by the advice of the Court, Wethersfeild men gaue so mush unto Sowheag as was to his sattisfaction for all their plantations lyeing on both sides the great Riuer, wth the Islands, viz. six miles in bredth on both sides the Riuer, & six miles deep from the River westward, and three miles deep from the Riuer eastward.  Thus testifyeth George HUBBARD.

By me GEORGE HUBBARD.

Taken upon oath Before me, Wilm LEETE;

This is a true coppy of the originell, being examined & compared therewith this 18 of May, 1667, pr me

John ALLYN: Secretry.

[page 38]

[62]

Page 451.

WARD, Joyce, Wethersfield.  Invt. £52-15-06.  Taken 24th February, 1640-1, by Geroge HUBBARD & Leonard CHESTER.  Will dated 15th November, 1640:

I, Joyce WARD, of Wethersfield, being sicke in body but whole in mynd, doe make my last will & Testament this 15th day of November, in this prsent yeare of the Lord Christ 1640, in manner and forme as followeth:

Imprs.  I give to foure of my sonnes, that is to say, Anthony WARD, to Willie WARD, Robert WARD, & John WARD, ech of the a pare of sheets, and to my eldest sonne Edward, I give unto him twelve pence of mony; furthermore, I make my sonne in law John FLECHER my whole and sole Executor, to pay and discharge all those debts, legaces wch I am bownd to prforme, and for to see my body brought to the ground in a decent manner.  Memorand: that I, Joyce WARD, have left my sonne Roberts portion wch his father gave him, wch is (£20) twenty pound, in England, in the hands of my sonne Edward WARD; I have made Mr. WOLLERSLOUE, of Clipsum, in England, in the County of Rutland, my Atturny, for to receave yt for my vse; if he have gott yt there, my son Robert shall have the whole twenty pound; but if yt be not gotten, then the six pound wch I paid for the putting out of the saide Robert WARD to Apprentice, shall be prte of that twenty pound.

JOYCE WARD    her mark

Witness: Nathaniel DICKINSON
Roger PRICHAT

[page 39]

An Inventory of all and singular the goods, Chattells, cattle, belonging to Joyce WARD, wydow, late of Wethersfield, made, taken and found the 24th of February, by George HUBBARD and Leonard CHESTER:

£  s  d
Imprs 7 yards of Hemppen cloath at 2s pr yard, 0-14-00
It. four prrs of Hemppen Sheets, 2-00-00
It. one prre of flaxen sheets, 1-00-00
It. her apparell, vist, 2 gowns, one hatt, one pre of bodyes, wth other, 5-00-00
It. one bedd, two boulsters, two pillows, two Coverings, two Curtains, 10-00-00
It. one boxe, wth a little hand Trunke. 0-03-06
one brasse pott, 16s; one brasse panne, £1, 1-16-00
one iron potte, one chamber pott, 2s, 0-04-00
one brasse coal dish, 0-02-00
one sowe wth three piggs, 1-00-00
two table cloathes, wth 4 napkins, 0-16-00
one Bond or Specialty 30-00-00
___________
£52-15-06

Pr Leonard CHESTER,
George HUBBARD.

[page 325]

Page 227a-227b.

HUBBARD, George, Middletown.  He died 16 March, 1684-5.  Invt. £243-10-00.  Taken 13 May, 1685, by Giles HAMLIN, Nathaniel WHITE, William WARDE.  Legatees: the Widow, son Joseph age 42 years, Daniel 41, Samuel 37, Nathaniel 33, Richard 30, Mary (the wife of Thomas RANNY) 44, Elizabeth (the wife of Thomas WETMORE) 25 years of age.  Will dated 2 May, 1681.

I George HUBBARD of Middletown, being about 80 years of age, yet in comfortable health of bodie and having the use of my understanding as formerly, do make this my last Will & Testament:

Imprimis: I give to my Eldest son Joseph HUBBARD, besids what I have formerly given him, one Acre of my meadow At a place called pasen chauge on the East sid the Great River, to ly on the North sid the Cricke which Runs through my Land.  It. I give to my son Danill HUBARD, besids what I gave him formaly, two Acres of Swompe at the west end of my Long meadow swompe Next the bogie meadow.  It. I give to my son Samuel, besides what I formerly gave him, the on halfe of my halfe mile Lott on the East sid the great River, divided by the List in 1673.  It. I give to my son Nathaniel HUBARD my peice of bogie meadow, being about on acre & quarter, Lying Next Mr. Giles HAMLINs meadow; more over I give to my sayd son Nathaniel all that my meadow on the South sid of the Crick at pason chag on the East sid the Great River; more over I give to my sayd son the one halfe of my Leaven acre Lott at the South End of the towne; I give allso to my sayd son the on Halfe of my Great Lott at the Long Swamp, as allso the on halfe of my great Lott in the westermost Rang of Lotts.  It. I give to my daughter Elizabeth HUBARD All the Rest of my Land on the East sid the Great River, besides what is formerly Deposed of, both which is Layd out & which is Lotted for by the List of Estate in the yeare 1673, only my half mille Lott excepted; It. I give to my Daughter Mary RANY fourty shillings out of my Estate, but on further consideration instead of that fourty shillings I give my sayd daughter the on halfe of my halfe Mille Lott on the East sid the Great River, devided by the List in 1673.  It. I give to my son Richard HUBARD my hous I now Dwell in & my barne and all other buildings, with my home Lott they stand on; as also my Long meadow Land & the Rest of my Long meadow swampe besids that I have given to my son Danill, hee allowing my son Daniel a Lamas highway to goe to the Swampe I give him if need Require; more over I give to my sayd son the other halfe of my Leaven Acre Lott at the south end of the towne, as allso the other halfe of my Great Lott at the Long Swampe, & Likewise the other halfe of my great Lott in the Westermost Rang of Lotts.  Moreover it is my meaning herein, and my will is, that my sayd son Richard shall be my solle Executor, Injoyning him to provid Comfortably for his mother During her widow hood, And to pay all my Just Debts for my Desent Buriall; more over I give to my Loving wife Elizabeth HUBARD all my housould Goods During her Natural Life, and after her Deseas my will is that my houshould Goods be equally Devided between Nathaniel And Richard & Elizabeth, Except the Great

[page 326]

Kettle, which I will to my son Richard.  And farther it is my will that my Loving wife shall have the South end of my hous To Dwell in by her self if shee see caus, & rome in the seler for her nesesary use During her widow hood.  More over on farther Consideration my will is that my wife Shall have halfe my hom Lott & halfe my orchard during her widow hud, as also on Cowe, And soe to provid for her selfe, & that my son Richard shall pay her three pownds pr year of Corent pay of the Country During her natural Life.

GEORGE X HUBARD, senior.

Upon farther Consideration I see cause to give the whole eleven acres of Land over the two Sticks brooke by the fulling mill to my Son Nathaniel.

GEORGE X HUBARD, SENIOR.

Signed in presents of us:

Sar. Samuel X WARD. I Request my Loving brethren
John HALL senior, Robert WARNER & Deacon John HALL
Ebenezer HUBBARD. to be the over seers to the per-
formance of my will.  27 February, 1683-4.

Court Record, Page 112–3d September, 1685: Will Proven.

──────────────

Page 248.

HUBBARD, Joseph, Middletown.  Invt. £139-11-00.  Taken December, 1686, by Nathaniel WHITE, Robert WARNER.  The children: Joseph age 15 years, Robert 13, George 11, John 8, Elizabeth 3 years of age.

There is also a Legacy by Capt. WATTS his Will to Joseph HUBBARD.

Court Record, Page 127–3d March, 1686-7: Adms. to the Widow.  Order to Dist. the Estate and appoint Lieut. Nathaniel WHITE, Robert PORTER (now Dec) & Robert WARNER Overseers to assist the Widow in the management of the Estate.

Page 139–4 March, 1696-7: It appears that two of the Distributors above named Deceased.  The Court appoint at the desire of Robert HUBBARD, one of the Children, Ensign John HALL and Sergt. Thomas WARDE, with Capt. WHITE, to distribute the Estate according to the former Order of the Court.

Page 102–(Vol. VII) 2 February, 1704-5: Robert, George & Elizabeth HUBBARD of Middletown, children of Joseph HUBBARD, being all of lawful age, Exhibited in this Court an Agreement in writing under their hands & seals, made for the division & settlement of the Estate of the sd. Joseph HUBBARD, and all acknowledged the same before this Court to be their free act and deed.  This agreement on File, made with the consent and approbation of their Mother: Robert HUBBARD is to have the whole Homestade and Twenty acres of Land out of the East side of that Lott upon which his brother George hath built and upon which he doth now dwell.  George HUBBARD is to have the remainder of the Lott upon which he now lives, being about 75 acres.  And John HUBBARD is to have about

[page 327]

17-1/2 acres where he now lives, and the meadow Lott at wongonk, and the one acre of Land at passon chauge.  And Elizabeth HUBBARD, their sister, having already received £6-10-00 in pay, is to have £13-10-00 more in Country pay, to be paid betwixt George and John HUBBARD within three years after the date hereof.  And the above Robert doth by this Instrument take the care of their mother, and doth bind him, his heirs, Executors and administrators, to provide for her and give unto her a comfortable subsistance of food and rayment during her natural life, and other necessaries that she shall want.  In witness whereof the said Robert, George, John and Elizabeth HUBBARD, And Mary, their Mother, have unto this Agreement set their hands and seals this 3d day of June, 1704.

ROBERT HUBBARD LS.
Witnesses present: GORG HUBARD LS.
John HAMLIN, JOHN HUBARD LS.
George STOCKING. ELIZABETH X HUBARD LS.

acknowledged 3 December, 1707, before me, John HAMLIN, Assistant.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

