Home > Uncategorized > A Digest of the Early Connecticut Probate Records

A Digest of the Early Connecticut Probate Records

Source: Charles William Manwaring, A Digest of the Early Connecticut Probate Records, Volume 3, Hartford District, 1729-1750 (Hartford: R.S. Peck and Company, 1906), page 647.

[page 647]

Page 403-4-5.

SMITH, John, Glastonbury.  Invt. £1472-14-00.  Taken 8 May, 1750, by Thomas WELLES and Jonathan HALE.  Will dated 14 November, 1749.

I, John SMITH of Glastonbury, do make this my last will and testament: I give to Gershom SMITH, my eldest son, and to his heirs and assigns forever, 14 acres of land in the lott I now dwell upon, with the buildings thereon, being the southwest corner of the lott (being my old lott).  I give unto David SMITH, my 2nd son, 14 acres of land on the northwest corner of sd. lott.  I give unto my 3d son, Obadiah SMITH, 14 acres of land, being the southeast corner of sd. lott.  I give unto my 4th son, Israel SMITH, 14 acres of land, being the northwest corner of sd. lott.  I give to my three eldest daughters, Susannah SMITH, Esther SMITH and Dorothy SMITH, 12 acres and 3-4 of land which I bought of my brother Joseph SMITH.  I give to my fourth daughter, Eunice SMITH, £30 old tenor.  I give to my 5th daughter, Anne SMITH, £30 old tenor.  The above legacies to be paid by my two sons, Obadiah and Israel SMITH, to my sd. daughters when they arrive at the age of 18 years.  I give to my wife Mehetabel SMITH the 1-3 part of my movable estate forever, and the 1-3 part of my houseing and lands so long as she shall remain my widow, and no longer.  I give to my wife Mehetabel SMITH and my brother Joseph SMITH the use of all my houseing and lands two years upon consideration of their keeping and maintaining my three youngest children two years, viz., Obadiah, Anne and Israel.  I appoint my brother Joseph SMITH sole executor.

Witness: Jonathan HALE, JOHN X SMITH, LS.
Richard KENEY, Abigail X GARDNER.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

