Home > 000002. Chauncey Leon Mattocks, 000004. Beverly Earl Mattocks > Carl Kenneth Mattocks to Mark Raymond Mattocks, letter, 20 February 2002

Carl Kenneth Mattocks to Mark Raymond Mattocks, letter, 20 February 2002

Source: Carl Kenneth Mattocks to Mark Raymond Mattocks, letter, 20 February 2002.

February 20th
2002

Nephew Mark:

I have enclosed a book and some old photos that I thought you might enjoy.

Earl & I use to fish for catfish with our bare hands when we were about 8 or 9 years old.  We caught one that weighed 18 lbs in that little river known as the Marias de Cygne [sic] in Missouri.

With regards to the moonshining I can say that I found several “stills” while hunting but would never say anything as most were owned by our neighbors.

Prohibition was in effect and every one was bootlegging.

Your photos with the wild game were appreciated, and I copied it and sent it out to my friend , the bow hunter, out in Illinois.

The one with the black Lab was especially appreciated as I have one of those.  They are a wonderful dog but very inquisitive and as such they do not make good Seeing Eye Dogs.

Winter has been dragging by very slowly but we have been doing o.k.

Please give my best to the rest of the family.

Uncle C.

[notes with enclosed photographs:]

#1

A scene on the Wabash River about 3 – 4 miles N. of Russellville – IL.

My brother Leon with his friend Richard Adams.

Boat with clam bars & outboard motor.

Device on the rear was used to pull & steer Boat thru clam beds.

#2

Your Dad at a Grade School in Winchester, IN.

1941

My Dad operated a dragline there for his brother Oliver Kenneth who was always known as “O.K.”

I was in the Army at Ft. Custer, MI.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

