Home > 000001. Gregg Leon Mattocks, 000002. Chauncey Leon Mattocks, 000003. Carol Lee Colley > Hartford Courant – Guest Book [Carl K. Mattocks]

Hartford Courant – Guest Book [Carl K. Mattocks]

Source: “Hartford Courant – Guest Book [Carl K. Mattocks],” at http://www.legacy.com/HartfordCourant/DeathNotices.asp, accessed 29 April 2003.

Guest Book for
Carl K. Mattocks

This Guest Book is maintained online until April 4, 2004 by anonymous.

Every now and then I feel the softest breath against my skin and I know that you̓re there. I know that there are more than angels watching over me – because I believe that you̓ll always be there when I need you.  Be well and happy with Mimi.  Please know that I love you and that you will always be my Daddy Boy… .Luv-Luv

Cheryl Higley (Farmington, CT)
April 3, 2003

When I first met Carl Mattox back in 1991, I was searching for my father̓s outfit the 38th Armored Inf HQ Co and the first to call me was Carl. Since then I have met a number from that outfit to tell me things my father never could. My thanks to Carl and Mutt McCord and others of the 7th for helping me to understand in a personal way the awfulness of war…

Bill Kemp (Middlesex, NC)
March 14, 2003

david butler (rensselaer, IN)
March 10, 2003

On behalf of the family of Carl̓s brother, Leon Mattocks, I extend my sympathy to all of those who have lost so much in the death of a truly remarkable man. I only encountered Uncle Carl a few times in my life, but through his letters, the stories I have been told, and the things I have read about him in books and articles, the fact that Carl was a true hero and a compelling individual is obvious. Personally I am indebted to him for the research into our family history which he so generously shared with me. My mother, Carol Mattocks, and my brothers Mark and Ken, will, like me, regret the passing of the last of his generation. Our thoughts and prayers are with you.

Sincerely,
Gregg Mattocks

Gregg Mattocks (Gresham, OR)
March 9, 2003

Hi, Im sorry to hear of Capt. Mattock passing. I served under him in the 38th Bn 81mm motars 7th Arm Div. during the Battle of the Bulge. The last time I saw him was on the morning of Dec.23, 1944 at Krombauch Belgium. Later that morning I was captured by the Germans. Capt Mattocks was a great leader and Company Commander. He will be missed.

Ex-Sgt. Howard W McCord, Decatur, Alabama

Howard W McCord (Decatur, AL)
March 6, 2003

My father was Walter DeVerne Gregory. My aunt, Dorothy Mccullough, told me about Carl and I wanted to learn about my family.

Pam Jeter (Raymore, MO)
March 5, 2003

We were sorry to hear about Carl. He was a special person in my life and the last visit we enjoyed with him and Betty was great. We know his passing will leave a great gap in your lives but he was definitely a wonderful person and we know his family was his biggest asset in his life. Sorry we can t be with you at this time but know our prayers are.

His cousins,
Nancy and Wayne

Nancy & Wayne Presley (Wellington,, CO)
March 5, 2003

Our deepest sympathy to the girls and families. Carl was not only a hero to our country, to you, your family but also to me from childhood. Our prayers are with you Love Dorothy and children Sharon, Greg and Randy and spouses

Dorothy McCullough (Rich Hill, MO)
March 5, 2003

A hero has fallen.
His last battle fought.
Were you afraid?
No I think not.

The world you had traveled till you found your true love.
Now you are guiding us from heaven above.

We̓ll miss all the info from “Carl̓s Almanac of Fiction and Fact”.
And of course all your jokes will still be intact.

You taught your girls so much about life,
We̓ll know how to get thru any problems or strife.

You made us laugh and you made us cry,
And you always made us wonder “Why?”.

May you find peace, love and hapiness in your next endeavor,
And please don̓t forget……

We̓ll love you forever.

Ellen

Ellen Mattocks (Unionville, CT)
March 5, 2003

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

