Home > 000002. Chauncey Leon Mattocks, 000003. Carol Lee Colley > Chauncey Leon Mattocks, resume, undated

Chauncey Leon Mattocks, resume, undated

Source: Chauncey Leon Mattocks, resume, undated.

INTRODUCING
CHAUNCEY “LEON” MATTOCKS
[…]
Gresham, Oregon 97030
Phone# […]

25+ YEARS EXPERIENCE
As    Carpenter
Foreman
Superintendent

Primary Field:

Commercial Concrete Formwork

(I.E.)

Mid & High Rise Buildings

Parking Structures

Water Treatment Facilities

Bridges

Plants, Mills, etc.

Secondary Field:

Small Industrial & Residential

(Rough & Finish)

Responsibilities:

All related field and yard operations in both “hands-on” and supervisory positions.

I am currently seeking employment in any of the above mentioned capacities.

I will be more than pleased to furnish further information and/or references upon your request.

Thank you,
Chauncey L. MATTOCKS

*

Introducing
CHAUNCEY L. MATTOCKS
desiring employment as: Carpenter, Foreman, Superintendent.

VITAL STATISTICS:

Date of birth: April 19, 1934
Race: Caucasian
Marital Status: Married
Sex: Male

Mr. Employer:

My work history seems to consist primarily, but not entirely, with the Ceco Corporation, 5601 West 26th Street, Chicago, Illinois 60650, (Home Office), Concrete Forming Division.  I first joined Ceco in 1954 at the Kansas City, Missouri district as a laborer.  I joined the carpenter’s union there (Local #6l) in 1963 and transferred to Ceco’s Denver, Colorado district in 1965.  I soon started supervising work there.  Of course, my first projects were rather small and insignificant, but two of my most notable were the Stapleton International Airport parking structure and the 28-story Prudential Plaza Office Building and parking garage.  Prudential was that district’s first “fast track” high-rise project and our first experience with “flying” forms.  In late November of 1975, I transferred to the Seattle district, P.O. Box 977, Renton, Washington 98055.  My first project here in the Northwest was a medical building in Roseburg, Oregon for Simpson Construction.  This was a simple one-way joist and soffit level beam structure, where we were responsible for the horizontal forming only.  My next project was a one-level, two-way joist building for Hewlett Packard in Corvallis, Oregon, Vic Construction, general contractor. The project had a very tight time schedule and we successfully completed it on time.

My next venture proved to be quite interesting, challenging, and memorable.  In July of 1976, I took one assistant and we set up a Ceco operation in Victoria, British Columbia.  Our principle project there was Provincial Office Building No. 2 for Farmer Construction of Victoria.  After training our replacements there and completing the Provincial Office Building, my assistant and I were sent back to Portland, Oregon in August of 1977.  There I became area foreman for the state of Oregon and Southwest Washington, and took charge of Ceco’s field operations.  I served in this position until August of 1981.  Some of our projects were the Tri-Met Administration Building and Bus Garages, the Columbia Square Building, the New Marriot Hotel, the Lloyd Center Parking Structure, Weyerhauser Paper Mill No. 2 (Longview, Washington), the First Federal Savings and Loan Building (Vancouver, Washington), and hospital additions at Good Samaritan, Dwyer, Tuality, St. Joseph’s (Tacoma), and St. Elizabeth’s (Yakima, Washington).  These were all poured in place concrete structures with both conventional reinforcing and post tensioning.  Ceco subcontracted from most of the major general contractors in this area, plus such out-of-area contractors as C.L. Peck, Guy F. Atkinson, H.B.E., Hensel Phelps. et cetera.

In August of 1981, I decided to move back to the Denver area.  I was only in charge of one project at a time there, but found it somewhat more challenging since many of their contracts were for “full-frame”.  This made us responsible not only for forming, but installing reinforcing, placing and finishing concrete, hoisting, et cetera.

However, in May of 1983, I was presented a much better offer by a newly arrived competitor, Steelform Contracting Company of San Leandro, California.  They had recently been awarded a contract for form work on a very large (over $350 million) project in downtown Denver and wanted me to oversee it.  Unfortunately, things did not go too smoothly and when the district manager, Marcus BRYANT, quit, I soon found it rather difficult to stay and opted to try running a job for a newly-formed non-union arm of Ceco called Formwork Services, Inc.  I ran their only job for five months.

Then, due to family matters and a love of the Northwest, when my wife was offered her old job back here in Gresham, we decided to move back out to be near our three sons.  I found work with Sun Roofing, (a division of the Coverite Company), 3004 East Burnside, (phone number […]).  Mike SATRAN is part owner and my
most immediate supervisor.  However, this work was only intended as a fill-in job until my sixty day restriction was fulfilled with Carpenter’s Local #247.  Now that it has been, I am seeking employment in the concrete forming field.  I believe I have worked with most horizontal (suspended) slab systems and several wall and column systems.  I have been involved in nearly every aspect of constructing buildings including systems analysis, material and equipment expiditing, scheduling, procurement of manpower, lay out, form design and inspection, safety, and cost analysis.

However, I also feel I am an efficient, conscientious, and dependable carpenter and would be perfectly happy in that position or any other that would be most complementary to your operation.  If there is the possibility that you might consider me for hire (either now or in the future), or if you wish any further information, please contact me at:

[…]
Gresham, Oregon 97030

or call (evenings and weekends only):

[…]

Thank you,
Chauncey L. MATTOCKS

P.S.

Since originally writing this resume, I have tried a partnership remodeling venture, spent a short time with Gervais Const. Co. building formwork for highway barriers, retaining walls, and transitions.  I also spent six months with Waco Scaffolding, Inc. where I supervised their concrete formwork operation.  However, due to many factors, this failed to last, so I find myself, once again, seeking employment in this area.  Your consideration will be most deeply appreciated!

Thanks again,

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

